BJP nominates L Murugan to contest Rajya Sabha elections from Madhya Pradesh

On February 14, BJP released its third nominee list for the elections to 56 Rajya Sabha seats from 15 states.
L Murugan with Prime Minister Narendra Modi
L Murugan with Prime Minister Narendra Modi
Written by:

 The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Wednesday, February 14, nominated Union Minister L Murugan to contest the Rajya Sabha election from Madhya Pradesh. The party’s third nominee list also featured Railway Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw, who would contest the Rajya Sabha elections from Odisha with the support of Biju Janata Dal. If both leaders are elected, it will be the second Rajya Sabha term for the Union ministers. 

Murugan is currently serving as the minister of state for Information & Broadcasting and Fisheries, Animal Husbandry, and Dairying. He was the president of the BJP’s Tamil Nadu Unit. However, the BJP lacks the numbers in the state assembly to win a Rajya Sabha seat. This is the second time he has been nominated from Madhya Pradesh. There are five vacancies from Madhya Pradesh. Besides Murugan, BJP also named three more candidates, Umesh Nath Maharaj, Maya Narolia, and Bansilal Gurjar in MP.

Maya Naroliya heads the BJP's Mahila Morcha in Madhya Pradesh. Umesh Nath is a religious figure while Banshilal Gurjar is a national vice president of BJP's Kisan Morcha. 

The Rajya Sabha elections for vacant seats will be held on February 27 as 56 members of the Rajya Sabha are retiring in April. The vote counting will be conducted on the same day. The last day for filing nominations ends on February 15, Thursday. The last date of withdrawal of nomination is February 20. 

Related Stories

No stories found.
The News Minute