Articles by Sowmya Rajendran

'Macbeth' is known as 'the cursed play' in theatre circles and Dileesh Pothan's film comes at a cursed time, making perfect use of the setting.
Wednesday, April 7, 2021 - 11:49
The film, directed by debut filmmaker Madonne Ashwin, is a satire on elections and aims to serve as a reminder to the electorate to vote wisely.
Tuesday, April 6, 2021 - 11:13
When the pieces of the puzzle fall in place, you are left with a giant EH rather than an AHA.
Friday, April 2, 2021 - 12:20
Directed by Umesh Bist, ‘Pagglait’ takes the greatest tragedy that can befall a woman in Indian society and turns it into her salvation.
Wednesday, March 31, 2021 - 16:33
While these incidents are well-known to the people of Tamil Nadu, it may be news for those outside the state.
Friday, March 26, 2021 - 14:30
Thulam Saravanan's viral poll promises also include a 300-ft iceberg in the constituency, a 100-day trip to the moon, a robot for housework and more.
Thursday, March 25, 2021 - 15:28
With elections nearing, we revisit Sathyan Anthikad's 1991 comedy about a home that's split over politics, way before family WhatsApp groups did it.
Friday, March 19, 2021 - 15:08
The book, which is about state violence against Adivasis and has an Adivasi hero, is based on Devashish’s film by the same name that was released in 2013.
Tuesday, March 16, 2021 - 16:02
In comparison to Shakti Soundar Rajan's previous films, the writing in ‘Teddy’ is better but the film still takes liberal leaps with logic.
Friday, March 12, 2021 - 15:58
Rajisha speaks to TNM about her Tamil debut, her role in 'Karnan' and why cinema is such a powerful medium.
Wednesday, March 3, 2021 - 18:22

Pages