Articles by Sowmya Rajendran

While Savitri is full of effusive praise for the men in her life, she has only contempt for her daughter-in-law. Sounds familiar?
Monday, July 8, 2019 - 15:50
It is as if a woman has only one body part – the uterus – and the entire world is invested in finding out whether there's any activity there or not.
Wednesday, July 3, 2019 - 12:22
Drag queens and artistes speak about how cinema has used drag for mockery and comedy, in contrast to the performance art which is about exploring gender and sexuality.
Monday, July 1, 2019 - 13:21
Tovino and Ahaana play a young couple in love, with another story arc about a cop investigating a mysterious death.
Saturday, June 29, 2019 - 11:31
From the hero peeking when a woman is bathing to deciding who should date his sister, cinema often romanticises circumstances which women in real life find threatening.
Wednesday, June 26, 2019 - 15:29
Dhanush is wonderfully controlled and carries the film easily on his shoulders, but overall the journey feels quite flat.
Friday, June 21, 2019 - 13:07
Susi Ganeshan's lengthy complaint has a long list of attachments to "prove" that Leena is of bad character - from her support for a queer film festival to her stand against the right wing.
Tuesday, June 18, 2019 - 17:53
Last year, Leena had accused the 'Thiruttu Payale' director of sexually harassing her in 2005.
Monday, June 17, 2019 - 17:54
A wonderfully original film, ‘Game Over’ has excellent writing and brilliant performances.
Friday, June 14, 2019 - 12:49
Kamal and Crazy Mohan have produced some of the best comedies together.
Monday, June 10, 2019 - 19:18