Will not support no confidence motion: TN CM EPS

The DMK, though it does not have Lok Sabha members to vote, urged the AIADMK to support the motion in the interest of Tamil Nadu.
Will not support no confidence motion: TN CM EPS
Will not support no confidence motion: TN CM EPS
Written by:

With the TDP seeking support from the leaders of various parties ahead of the no confidence motion in Lok Sabha on Friday, Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami indicated on Thursday that the AIADMK would not support the no-confidence motion against the BJP.

“The no confidence motion was brought due to Andhra Pradesh’s problems.  Which state supported us, our people, and our farmers during the struggle for the Cauvery Management Board? No state came forward”, he asked.

Meanwhile, DMK working president MK Stalin stated that the party supports the no-confidence motion. Though the party does not have any opportunity to vote (as it does not have any Lok Sabha members), it supports the motion on ethical grounds, he said.

“Tamil Nadu has been neglected and ignored by the BJP. The state’s rights have been denied. The AIADMK should support the no-confidence motion”, he said.

In March this year, the AIADMK had said that it would support a no confidence motion if the Cauvery Management Board was not set up.

A motion of no confidence requires 50 members of the Lok Sabha to support the motion and over half the strength of members to pass. With M Thambidurai as Deputy Speaker of the Lok Sabha, the AIADMK is the third largest party in the house with 37 MPs.

On Wednesday, the TDP, Congress, and NCP moved a no-confidence motion in the Lok Sabha. The party has been demanding a floor test since the last session of Parliament. However, it was accepted by Speaker Sumitra Mahajan only on Wednesday. This comes after TDP broke its alliance with the BJP.

While the BJP clearly has a numerical majority, this is the first time in 15 years that a ruling party has been forced to prove its majority on the floor of the House.

The debate and vote will be held on Friday.

Related Stories

No stories found.
The News Minute