MLA MSR Rajavarman was immediately expelled from the AIADMK for anti-party activities.

Sattur MLA MSR Rajavarman and his supporters seen with AMMK's TTV Dhinakaran
news 2021 Tamil Nadu Assembly Election Thursday, March 11, 2021 - 17:39

AIADMK MLA MSR Rajavarman on Thursday switched over to the rival Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam camp, a day after the ruling party did not re-nominate him from his Sattur constituency in southern Tamil Nadu. The AIADMK immediately expelled him from the party for anti-party activities, the party said in a statement.

Rajavaraman, who represented Sattur in Assembly, said he and other office-bearers from his region have joined the AMMK. He accused the ruling party of not giving him the opportunity to those who slogged for the party.

After the Assembly election results in May, he claimed that AMMK general secretary TTV Dhinakaran would "determine who would form the government."

After 'Ehirkottai' S G Subramanian, who was elected on the AIADMK ticket from Sattur was disqualified in 2017 following his support to Dhinakaran, Rajavarman was picked by the ruling party and he won the May 2019 bye-poll.

However, due to his reported 'differences' with Minister KT Rajenthra Balaji, the AIADMK did not field him again and instead named R K Ravichandran, Virudhunagar east district secretary as its nominee from the Sattur segment.

Incidentally, SG Subramanian days ago rejoined the AIADMK after tendering an apology for siding with Dhinakaran about three years ago.

The 2021 Assembly polls will be a watershed election for the AIADMK since this is the first state polls after the demise of its supremo J Jayalalithaa who had led the party to back-to-back wins in 2011 and 2016.

Tamil Nadu Assembly has 234 seats and the state would have a single-phase poll on April 6.

On Wednesday, Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam (AMMK), led by TTV Dhinakaran released its first list of 15 candidates for the April 6 Tamil Nadu Assembly elections. 

The AMMK has entered into a tie-up with Lok Sabha MP Asaduddin Owaisi's AIMIM, alloting it three seats.

Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.