Tamil Nadu’s own T20 tournament has given rise to IPL stars like Varun Chakravarthy, Narayan Jagadeesan and Washington Sundar.

TN Premier League off to a grand start to be played in 3 cities this timeFacebook/TN Premier League
Sports TNPL 2019 Sunday, July 21, 2019 - 13:46

The fourth edition of the Tamil Nadu Premier League is here and how. The super-localised version of the Indian Premier League (IPL) with both sides playing 20 overs each, which has given a platform for cricketers from across Tamil Nadu, started in 2016 when the IPL team Chennai Super Kings was suspended from the league for two years. Though CSK made a thumping comeback in 2018 and became the winners of that edition of the IPL, the annual TNPL event continued as a radar to spot young cricketing talent. These youngsters get to play under the guidance of some of the most successful Indian cricket players and coaches and also get to contribute on a bigger stage like the IPL.

The 2019 edition of TNPL kicked off on Friday, with Indian national team cricketer Kedar Jadhav inaugurating the tournament at the NPR College grounds, Natham in Dindigul district. This time around, there are eight teams in the draw and a total of 32 matches. Fifteen matches each will be played in Dindigul and Tirunelveli while two matches will be played in Chennai.

Three matches have been played till Saturday between six teams – Dindigul Dragons, Chepauk Super Gillies, Karaikudi Kaalai, Siechem Madurai Panthers, Tuti Patriots and Ruby Trichy Warriors.

Dindigul Dragons v Chepauk Super Gillies – July 19

The two teams, led by R Ashwin and Koushik Gandhi, played the inaugural match of the tournament. Both put up a dazzling show, with Dindigul Dragons snatching a 10-run win over CSG.

CSG won the toss and elected to field, sending DD to bat. DD used the opportunity to post a target of 115 runs in 20 overs. R Ashwin (37) and Narayanan Jagadeesan (17) were the top scorers for the side. Chasing, CSG could muster only 105 runs in 20 overs for the loss of nine wickets. A Arif scored 16 runs for CSG.

Karaikudi Kaalai v Ruby Trichy Warriors – July 20

The challenge of a ‘Super over’ continued in TNPL as Karaikudi Kaalai edged out RTW in a thrilling match on Saturday. Murali Vijay’s late heroics went in vain as Karaikudi thumped Trichy to win their first match of the tournament.

Batting first, Karaikudi posted a total of 171 runs on the scoreboard. S Aniruddha scored 58 runs and R Srinivasan scored 37* in the match. Murali Vijay shone for RTW with a masterful 81 only to tie the match.

In the super over, RTW scored 11 runs, however, KK skipper Aniruddha smashed two sixes in the first two balls of the super over to seal the deal for Karaikudi Kaalai.

Tuti Patriots v Siechem Madurai Panthers – July 20

Defending champions Madurai Panthers strode past Tuti Patriots with a nine-wicket win in their first match of the tournament on Saturday. The match also witnessed a new league record being set by Madurai Panthers skipper Karthick, who smashed his 11th half-century in TNPL.

Chasing a target of 125 set by Tuti Patriots, Madurai Panthers whizzed past the finishing line in the 13th over. Madurai captain Karthick excelled with his bat scoring 65 runs. Madurai’s spinner R Mithun did a great job restricting Tuti Patriots to 124 by taking three wickets while giving away only 17 runs.

Akshay Srinivasan’s 55 run stint for Tuti Patriots went in vain as their bowling plans derailed at the wrong time. 

Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.