AIADMK leader O Panneerselvam took charge at a ceremony, which was held a little after 1 am on Tuesday.

OPS sworn in as new Tamil Nadu CM here is the full list of ministers in his cabinetFile photo: Paneerselvam with former Tamil Nadu CM Jayalalithaa (PTI)
news Jayalalithaa Tuesday, December 06, 2016 - 07:07

AIADMK leader O Panneerselvam took oath as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu in the wee hours of Tuesday at Raj Bhavan in Chennai. 

Known to be an ardent loyalist of former CM J Jayalalithaa, he took charge at a ceremony, which was held a little after 1 am.

Earlier in the day, he was endorsed as the man who will take reins of the government at a meeting of AIADMK MLAs held at Apollo Hospital in Chennai.

Jayalalithaa breathed her last at 11.30pm on Monday.

Here is the list of the new ministers in Tamil Nadu.  


Also Read:

Did Jayalalithaa provoke an enmity between MGR and Karunanidhi?

Sivaji Ganesan’s wish for 12-year-old Jayalalithaa ended up coming true

In Delhi, Jayalalithaa charmed Indira Gandhi, but in Madras MGR’s trust was eroding

From Komalavalli to Queen Bee: Looking back at the early years of Jayalalithaa

1989: The election that ended the succession battle between MGR’s heroines

Dravidian Chronicles: In 1996, a new party is born and the superstar intervenes

Dravidian Chronicles: March 1989- the beginning of Tamil Nadu's vendetta politics

The Mannargudi Intrigue: How Sasikala’s family grew to control TN’s power structures

Jayalalithaa’s blast from the past – convictions and imprisonments

Why the trial court convicted Jaya, but HC acquitted her: A simple explainer



Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.