Periyasamy has lost Athoor only twice, to AIADMK candidates, in 1991 and 2001.

Natham Viswanathan shunted out to Athoor has a tough fight against DMKs PeriyasamyImage: I Periyasamy (Left) and Natham Viswanathan (Right)
news TN 2016 Wednesday, April 13, 2016 - 18:52

The DMK party released its list of candidates on Wednesday, and without surprise,  the party has fielded former MLA Periyasamy against AIADMK candidate Natham Viswanathan from Athoor.

Periyasamy has won elections in 1989, 1996, 2006 and 2011 from Athoor. While the constituency is considered a DMK stronghold, Periyasamy who was once the Revenue Minister of the state enjoys some serious clout there.

He has lost Athoor only twice, to AIADMK candidates, in 1991 and 2001.

On the other hand, Natham R Vishwanathan has won elections in 2001, 2006 and 2011 from his home constituency, Natham. Once a close confidante of Jayalalithaa, Natham is no longer in Amma's coveted list. A loyalist of O Paneerselvam, Natham too has fallen out of Jayalalithaa's favour, just like OPS. 

The AIADMK shunted out Natham R Vishwanathan from his home constituency to Athoor to make the displeasure evident.

Though he had started campaigning much earlier, winning from Athoor will be a tough challenge for the Electricity and Prohibition & Excise minister of the state.

Topic tags,

Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.