Tracking the RK Nagar bye-poll results

Live blog TTV Dhinakaran wins in RK Nagar inherits Jayalalithaas legacy From left: Maruthu Ganesh, Madhusudhanan, TTV Dhinakaran
news Politics Sunday, December 24, 2017 - 07:47

It’s a three-cornered fight in Chennai’s RK Nagar constituency, the constituency left vacant due to the death of former Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa. The results of the closely watched bye-election will be declared on Sunday, after months of politics.

After Jayalalithaa passed away in December 2016, the bye-elections were supposed to take place in April this year. But widespread allegations of corruption ensured that the elections were postponed.

Polling finally took place on December 21, and it was estimated that 77% of the electorate came out to vote.

The main contenders in the election are Madhusudhanan from the ruling AIADMK faction, Sasikala’s nephew TTV Dhinakaran as an independent candidate, and Maruthu Ganesh from the main opposition, DMK. While Madhusudhanan and TTV Dhinakaran are fighting for Jayalalithaa’s legacy, DMK is hoping to win amidst the infighting in the AIADMK.

Follow all the updates, here.

Note: If you are unable to view the live blog updates, please disable ad-blocker. 


Show us some love and support our journalism by becoming a TNM Member - Click here.