news Tuesday, June 30, 2015 - 05:30
  AIADMK chief and Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa has been elected from the Radhakrishnan Nagar constituency with a resounding lead of over one lakh fifty thousand votes. Jayalalithaa got a total of 1,60,921 votes winning by a 1.51 lakh vote margin with CPI candidate C Mahendran in second place with 9669 votes. Amongst the independent candidates, "Traffic Ramaswamy" emerged with the maximum of a total of 4145 votes. Counting began in the RK Nagar constituency at eight am, with Jayalalithaa maintaining a comfortable lead right from the start. Of the total 28 candidates who contested  in the by-elections, only two (the AIADMK, CPI) candidates were represented by major political parties. With the BJP, Congress, DMK, DMDK and the PMK out of the running, what remained in the competition was only AIADMK’s Jayalalithaa who was looking to return as an MLA post her disqualification last September. According to law, the rule demanded her election as an MLA within six months of her taking on the Chief Minister position. Completely dominated by the AIADMK, by ten in the morning,  Jayalaltihaa had to her name a massive lead of over 35,000 votes. By the end of the eleventh round of counting, she was leading by over a lakh votes. Over two thousand voters also voted for the NOTA option in the by-election. The elections conducted on June 27 marked a record turnout of 74.4% . However, re-poll was called for in one of the polls following observations that voters who weren’t on the electoral list were allowed to participate in one polling booth. A by-election that was dominated by independent candidates, activist “Traffic Ramaswamy” put on a tough fight throughout the day ending up with over four thousand votes.
Topic tags,
Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.