news Wednesday, November 26, 2014 - 05:30
The News Minute | May 20, 2014 | 12:06 pm IST AIADMK general secretary and Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Jayalaithaa dismissed three ministers and six party funtionaries in the state on Monday, May 19. According to an IBN report, the sacking came as a result of AIADMK’s defeat in the three Lok Sabha seats of Kanyakumari, Dharmapuri and Puducherry, which were won by the BJP, PMK and AINRC respectively. Minister for Revenue BV Ramanaa, Minister for Agriculture S Damodaran and Minister for Labour KT Pachamal were the ones sacked by the AIADMK chief. The six party functionaries who were handed the pink slip are- Kanyakumari East District Secretary A Sivaselvarajan, Kanyakumari, West District Secretary D John Thangam, Dharmapuri District Secretary KP Anbhazhagan, MLA, Puducherry District Secretary A Anbhazhagan, MLA, Puducherry J Jayalalithaa Peravai Secretary Om Shakti Segar. Jayalalitha also remodeled the portfolios of various ministers. According to a press release by the Raj Bhavan in Chennai some of the changes in portfolios include: • KP Munuswamy, who holds Municipal Administration and Rural Development, has been given Labour Ministry.• S Sundararaj who now holds Handlooms and Textiles department, has been given Sports and Youth welfare. • Agri SS Krishnamoorthy has been given the Agriculture department• SP Velumani has been allotted Municipal Administration• S Gokula Indira has been assigned the Handloom and Textile Ministry The ministers are likely to take their oaths on Tuesday. That Jayalalitha is taking the loss of those three seats very seriously, is evident by her actions. It is a hint for the party workers to gear up for the assembly elections in two years.
Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.