Karnataka Chief Minister Kumaraswamy gets 10 cabinet portfolios including the coveted Energy ministry.

G Parameshwara bags both Home and Bengaluru DKS gets Water Resources Full list of Karnataka ministersPTI/File
news Karnataka 2018 Friday, June 08, 2018 - 21:28

Two days after 25 MLAs from both the Congress and JD(S) took oath as ministers of the coalition government, the portfolios were formally announced after mutiple deliberations and protests by disgruntled MLAs.

Congress leader DK Shivakumar, who was credited with keeping the MLAs together following the Assembly Elections, had to settle for Water Resources Ministry and Medical Education Department. There was speculation that he was keen on the Energy portfolio which he had held last time. All this while, HD Revanna was slated to bag it, but CM Kumaraswamy has decided to keep it in is own grip.

Like in 2006, HD Revanna of the JD(S) will be the Public Works Department Minister.

CM Kumaraswamy as speculated has kept Finance Ministry with himself along with 9 other portfolios including Intelligence (from Home), Cabinet Affairs, Department of Personnel and Administrative Reforms, Information and Public Relation department, Public Enterprises, Energy, Infrastructure Development, Planning and Statistics, Textiles .

Deputy Chief Minister Parameshwara has been made the Home Minister.

Incidentally, G Parameshwara will also be the Bengaluru Development Minister. In addition to this, he will handle the Youth empowerment and sports ministry. His close aide MLC Jayamala has been named as the Minister of Women and Child Development.

No minister from the Siddharamiah regime has retained their portfolio.

In a surprise inclusion, KPJP MLA R Shankar, who had earned a reputation for switching loyalties between the BJP and the JD(S)-Congress combine in the post-poll scenario, has also been given the Forest, Ecology and Environment Department.

Congress MLA Krishna Byregowda has been given three portfolios including Rural Development; Law, Justice and Human Rights; and Parliamentary Affairs and Legislation.

Priyanka Kharge who was the IT minister in the previous government has been given the Social Welfare Department.

As speculated six ministerial berths have been left unaccommodated, as this would give the two parties some space to accommodate dissenting MLAs.  

In one major development, former Water Resources Minister and Lingayat face of the Congress, MB Patil has left for Delhi after he missed out on a ministrial position and is set to talk with the High Command directly.

Here is the full list of ministries announced on Wednesday

CM HD Kumaraswamy — Cabinet affairs, Personnel and                   AdministrativeReforms, Finance, Excise, Intelligence, Information and Public Relation, Planning and Statistics, Public Enterprises and Energy.

Deputy CM G Parameshwara- Home (excluding Intellignce), Bengaluru Development, Youth Empowerment and Sports.

HD Revanna— Public Works Department exluding Port and Inland Transport.

RV Deshpande— Revenue without Muzrai, Skill Delevopment.

Bandeppa Khashempur --Co-operation Department.

DK Shivakumar— Major and Medium Irrigation, Medical education.

GT Devegowda— Higher Education.

KJ George— Large and Medium Scale Industries , IT, BT, Science and Technology.

DC Thammanna— Transport Department.

Krishne Byregowda— Rural Development, Law, Justice and Human Rights, Parliamentary Affairs and Legislation.

Manguli Mallapa Channaveerappa- Horticulture Department.

NH Shivashankara Reddy—  Agriculture Department.

SR Srinivas Vasu— Small Scale Industries.

Ramesh Jarakiholi— Municipalities and Local Bodies, Port and Inland.

Venkatarao Nadagouda— Animal Husbandary.

Priyank Kharge— Social Welfare.

CS Puttaraju— Minor Irrigation.

UT Khader— City Corporations excluding Bengaluru, Housing.

Sa Ra Mahesh— Tourism, Sericutlure.

BZ Zaeer Ahmed Khan— Food, Civil Supplies, Minority and Wakh Department.

N Mahesh — Primary and Secondary Education.

Shivanand Patil— Health and Family Welfare Department.

Venkataramanappa— Labour Department.

C Puttaranga Shetty— Backward Classes Welfare Department.

R Shankar— Forest, Ecology and Environment Department.

Jayamala— Women and Child Development, Empowerment of Differntly abled  and Senior Citizensa, Kannada and Culture.

Show us some love and support our journalism by becoming a TNM Member - Click here.