While the Trust Vote went in Palaniswami’s favour, public sentiment doesn’t seem to be there just yet.

Edapaddi Palaniswami retains CM chair Kollywood calls it demockcrazyPTI
news Politics Saturday, February 18, 2017 - 16:01

After several hours of high voltage drama at the Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly, sitting CM Edappadi Palaniswami of the AIADMK won the Trust Vote with the support of 122 MLAs.

The House was adjourned twice during the day due to protests by the opposition parties. Mics and chairs were damaged and several members, including the Speaker, were roughed up during the ruckus. The DMK MLAs and their leader Stalin were forcibly evicted by marshals. The Congress MLAs staged a walk-out and the Trust Vote was eventually passed without the presence of the opposition MLAs.

Reacting to the news, actor Kamal Haasan tweeted that this was a "de-mockcrazy". He added sarcastically that the people of Tamil Nadu should welcome their MLAs with the respect they deserve back home.

Actor and Congress spokesperson Khushbu tweeted that the strength of the democracy is the opposition and that winning the Trust Vote without one was "the opposite of democracy". She also said that it was difficult to "digest" that EPS would be the CM.

Actor Radikaa Sarathkumar called Palaniswami's victory a "disgrace" and said that the Governor should act.

Singer Chinmayi retweeted a tweet that called the situation a "demockerycy".

Actor Arvind Swami, who has been vocal about the situation in Tamil Nadu, tweeted earlier in the day that it's a pity there's a "media blackout" of the Assembly. He also asked if we should feel happy or sad about undemocratic means being used to protect true democracy. He further said that only a re-election was acceptable and that this was not the people's mandate.


Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.