EC in Tamil Nadu seizes Rs 65 lakh in less than 24 hours and here is the lowdown
news TN2016 Friday, May 13, 2016 - 20:11

The Election Commission on Friday seized around Rs 65 lakhs across various constituencies of Tamil Nadu, with the help of flying squads and income tax officials.

The highest haul was from Bhavanisagar constituency in Erode where the EC seized Rs.32 lakhs.

With less than three days to go for the state assembly elections, the EC announced that the number of flying squads per constituency will be increased to 25.

According to the EC, one flying squad will be stationed for every two villages of each constituency. 1280 more flying squads were added on Friday.


By Thursday evening, the total amount seized by the EC had reached Rs 100.32 croreof which Rs 37 crore has been returned upon production of relevant documents.

Here is the list of constituencies from where cash was seized by the EC on Friday till 6pm:

Ariyalur – Rs. 1.73 lakh

Salem West – Rs. 1.6 lakh

Tirutani – Rs. 56,000

Pottavelli – Rs. 94,500

Thadco Colony – Rs.11, 000

Veerapandi – Rs.1 lakh

Ranipet – Rs. 1,23,000

Kovilpatti – Rs. 90,000

Perundurai – Rs.43,000

Kunavakkam – Rs.1.5 lakhs

Namakkal – Rs.18,835

Kodaikanal – Rs.1.9 lakhs

Kadalur – Rs.  3.90 lakhs

Bhuvanagiri – Rs. 3.9 lakhs

Madurai – Rs. 40,000

Thiruvaiyaru – Rs. 90,000

Ariyalur – Rs.1,74,300

Kanchipuram – Rs. 4,48,700

Bhavanisagar – Rs.32 lakhs

Vellore – Rs.3.15 lakhs

Sembarankoil – Rs. 2.26 lakh



Show us some love and support our journalism by becoming a TNM Member - Click here.