The AIADMK held a meet at the party HQ on Monday but is yet to field a candidate.

Deepa Jayakumar to contest RK Nagar bye-polls AIADMK divided on candidate
news RK Nagar bye-polls Monday, November 27, 2017 - 18:49

While the AIADMK led by Edappadi Palaniswami and O Paneerselvam failed to reach a consensus on Monday over the party's choice of candidate for the RK Nagar bye-polls, J Jayalalithaa's neice J Deepa has made it clear that she will be contesting.

Deepa who is currently fighting the government over the conversion of Poes Garden into a public memorial for the former CM, announced that she will be battling for Jayalalithaa's legacy. Deepa had contested as part of her party, MGR Amma Deepa Peravai earlier this year, when the election was first scheduled. The bye-poll was later cancelled over allegations of candidates bribing voters.

Jayalalithaa's niece had announced in October too that she plans to contest the elections. She had told reporters in Trichy that, "I will contest the RK Nagar by-election again and will win and will work for the people in place of the late leader J Jayalalithaa."

She was however waiting for the Election Commission to respond to her claim for the two leaves symbol. The Election Commission however awarded the symbol to the AIADMK faction led by O Panneerselvam on a petition filed by him, Madhusudhanan and others. The bye-poll was scheduled for December 21 the very next day.

The DMK on its part has fielded a local leader Marudhu Ganesh for the election again.

The AIADMK held a meeting at the party headquarters in the morning but there was no conclusion on who will represent them in the election. Following this, the Chief Minister has called for a meeting at his residence, reportedly with all his supporters. But in what is being seen as a setback for TTV Dhinakaran, three MPs - Navaneethakrishnan, Vijayala Satyanand & Gopalakrishnan who had expressed their support for the Sasikala camp have joined the meeting at the CM's residence.

Leaders of the AIADMK when questioned about the presence of the MPs, told the media that they were just the first among the rebel leaders who will return to the party from the TTV camp.  


Show us some love and support our journalism by becoming a TNM Member - Click here.