After high drama, late on Tuesday night, the EC announced that actor Vishal’s nomination papers for the RK Nagar bye-polls were rejected.

Dec 5 2016 Amma died Dec 5 2017 Democracy Died Vishal hits back
news Politics Wednesday, December 06, 2017 - 08:33

“5th Dec 2016, #Amma died, 5th Dec, 2017, #Democracy died.... #SadReality #RIPDemocracy” (sic).

A perceptibly angry and disappointed Vishal tweeted the above at 3am on Wednesday, following several hours of twists and turns, and high drama over the validity of the election candidacy nomination papers he filed for the high-profile RK Nagar bye-elections to be held later this month. The Election Commission announced late on Tuesday night that his papers were rejected.

Vishal had also tweeted earlier, “Democracy at its lowest low !! Disheartening to hear that the nomination made by me was initially accepted & later when I left, has been announced as invalid. #PoliticalGame” (sic)

In a statement issued late on Tuesday night, Returning Officer Velusamy stated that Vishal’s nomination papers had come under scrutiny after objections were raised over the validity of the proposers. The RO goes on to state that two proposers – Sumathy and Deepan – had appeared in person and “submitted written representation that they had not proposed the nomination of Thiru Vishal Krishna and their signatures have been forged”.

Vishal is the second high-profile candidate to have his nomination papers rejected, after MGR Amma Deepa Peravai's Deepa.

Minutes after the rejection was first announced, Vishal and his team of supporters started a sit-in protest outside the Returning Officer's office. As soon as the protest began, the Chennai police surrounded the protesters and demanded that they vacate the area.

Following this, the actor held a news conference announcing that his papers had been accepted. However, hours later, his nomination was officially rejected.

The RK Nagar seat fell vacant following the death of Chief Minister J. Jayalalithaa on December 5, 2016.

The ruling AIADMK and the DMK have already announced E Madhusudhanan and N Marudhu Ganesh, respectively, as their candidates for the seat.

Side-lined AIADMK leader TTV Dinakaran will also be contesting as an Independent candidate.

Show us some love and support our journalism by becoming a TNM Member - Click here.