All the other 233 constituencies are set to go for polls on Monday (May 16)

CPIM disagrees with EC wants polls before May 19 at Aravakurichi in TNYoutube screenshot
news TN2016 Sunday, May 15, 2016 - 12:59

Tamil Nadu CPI (M) State Secretary of G Ramakrishnan on Sunday wrote to the Election Commission to conduct polls in Aravakurichi constituency before the day of results (May19).

This comes after the Election Commission late on Saturday decided to postpone polling in the constituency in Karur district of the state to May 23 owing to large-scale corruption.

In his letter to Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi, Ramakrishnan said that the reason behind his request was that voters in Aravakurichi might get biased as the results of the other 233 constituencies would already be out.

Aravakurichi is witnessing a high pitch battle between DMK strongman and former MP KC Palanisamy and former Minister V. Senthil Balaji of the AIADMK, a confidante of Jayalalithaa.

All the other 233 constituencies are set to go for polls on Monday (May 16) in a single phase along with neighbouring state Kerala and UT Puducherry.

Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.