Actors Rohini, Lenin Bharati campaign for CPI(M) in Tamil Nadu

Rohini is also the State General Secretary of the Tamil Nadu Progressive Writers’ Association.
Written by :

Actor Rohini is among the list of celebrity campaigners for the Assembly elections in Tamil Nadu. The actor has been campaigning for CPI(M) candidates in Kilvelur and Gandharavakottai constituencies in Tamil Nadu ahead of the state Assembly elections. Both fall under reserved constituencies. Notably, according to reports, director Lenin Bharati of Merku Thodarchi Malai fame too has been campaigning for CPI(M).

The award-winning actor who has done films across major Indian languages is also the State General Secretary of the Tamil Nadu Progressive Writers’ Association. In  Kilvelur (reserved) constituency Nagai Mali is contesting and in Gandarvakottai (reserved) it is M Chinnadurai.

CPI(M) is contesting in six seats in Tamil Nadu under DMK-led Secular Progressive Alliance (SPA). State secretary K Balakrishnan had announced that SK Ponnuthai will contest from Thiruparankundram, K Srinivasan from Kovilpatti, A Kumar from Harur (reserved) and N Pandi from Dindigul constituencies.

During the Lok Sabha elections of 2019, CPI (M) won from two constituencies in Tamil Nadu. This includes Coimbatore where PR Natarajan won and Madurai from where writer S Venkatesan had contested.

In Tamil Nadu, some celebrities have joined the political campaign rallies. In Coimbatore South actor Suhasini has been campaigning for her uncle Kamal Haasan. Actor Namitha too campaigned in the same constituency but for BJP’s Vanathi Srinivasan. Notably, in Coimbatore South, Union Minister Smriti Irani too campaigned for the BJP recently.

There is also no dearth for actor-turned-politicians this Assembly elections. From Udhayanidhi Stalin to Khushboo to Kamal Haasan to Sripriya, Assembly elections in the state have quite a few silver screen stars making their electoral politics debut. While Udhayanidhi is contesting from Chepauk for the DMK, actor Khushboo is contesting from Thousand Lights in Chennai for the BJP. Kamal Haasan and Sripriya, both from the Makkal Needhi Maiam are contesting from Coimbatore South and Mylapore constituencies respectively. 

Related Stories

No stories found.
The News Minute