The holidays, that come under Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881, are applicable for government offices and commercial banks, including cooperative banks.

23 public holidays in 2020 TN Govt announces listImage for Representation
news Human Interest Wednesday, October 23, 2019 - 10:16

Tamil Nadu State Government on Tuesday announced a total of 23 public holidays for the year 2020. This number is the exact same as last year. The holidays, that come under Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881, are applicable for government offices and commercial banks, including cooperative banks.

Of the 23 days, 7 are on weekends days. January and August are the months with most number of holidays - 5 each. The months of February, June, July and September have no public holidays this year.

The Pongal holiday clubbed with the weekend holidays will amount to 5 consecutive days of holidays this year. The Puja holidays fall on Sunday and Monday in 2020 and Deepavali is on a Saturday. Christmas that falls on a Friday, will amount to three consecutive days of holidays including the weekend. Same goes for Good Friday, May Day, Gandhi Jayanthi and Milad-un-Nabi that are on Fridays. Republic Day and Independence Day are on Sunday and Saturday respectively.

The first quarter holidays include New Year's Day (January 1, Wednesday), Pongal (January 15, Wednesday), Tiruvalluvar Day (January 16, Thursday), Uzhavar Thirunal (January 17, Friday), Republic Day (January 26, Sunday) and Telugu New Year's Day (March 23, Wednesday).

In the second quarter, Annual closing of Accounts for Commercial Banks and Co-opertaive Banks (April 1), Mahaveer Jayanthi (April 6, Monday), Good Friday (April 10, Friday), Tamil New Year's Day and BR Ambedkar's Birthday (April 14, Tuesday), May Day (May 1, Friday) and Ramzan (May 25, Monday) are the public holidays.

The third quarter holidays include Bakrid (August 1, Saturday), Krishna Jayanthi (August 11, Tuesday), Independence Day (August 15, Saturday), Vinayakar Chathurthi (August 22, Saturday) and Muharram (August 30, Sunday).

As for the last quarter, holidays include Gandhi Jayanthi (October 2, Friday), Ayutha Puja (October 25, Sunday), Vijaya Dasami (October 26, Monday), Milad-un-Nabi (October 30, Friday), Deepavali (November 14, Saturday) and Christmas (December 25, Friday). 

Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.