18 disqualified MLAs not to appeal in SC, will face elections: TTV Dhinakaran

The announcement comes after the speaker P Dhanapal and the Chief whip S Rajendran filed separate caveats in the apex court, anticipating an appeal in the case by the TTV camp.
18 disqualified MLAs not to appeal in SC, will face elections: TTV Dhinakaran
18 disqualified MLAs not to appeal in SC, will face elections: TTV Dhinakaran
Written by:

The chief of Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam (AMMK) TTV Dhinakaran announced that they will not go for an appeal against the Madras High Court verdict upholding the disqualification of the 18 AIADMK MLAs. Speaking to the reporters in Madurai, Dhinakaran said that the MLAs are ready to face the bye-elections to the 20 constituencies in Tamil Nadu. “I had already announced this, we are not going for an appeal. We will face the elections,” he said.

Responding to a remark made by the ruling AIADMK that the MLAs who sided with the AMMK chief would lose their deposit if they contest in elections, Dhinakaran said, “They said the same thing even during RK Nagar bye-polls (where TTV Dhinakaran won by defeating the AIADMK and the DMK candidates). AIADMK would be the one who would be fighting to retain deposit in the constituencies. AMMK will win a huge victory in all 20 constituencies.”  

The announcement comes a week after the Madras High Court ruled that the decision of the speaker of the TN Assembly to disqualify the 18 MLAs was valid. The ruling was delivered by Justice M Sathyanarayanan, the third judge in the case, which saw a split verdict in August.

"In politics, there is no setback. It is only an experience. We thought we will get a favourable verdict. But the judgment was the opposite. We will discuss with the 18 MLAs and decide our future course of action. If they decide to appeal, we will appeal, if they decide to face the elections, then we will not appeal. So whatever they decide, we will stand by that,” TTV Dhinakaran had told mediapersons after the verdict.

The move by the Dhinakaran camp comes two days after the ruling AIADMK announced a list of Ministers who would be personally overseeing the 20 bye-poll constituencies for the party.

Speaker P Dhanapal disqualified the 18 AIADMK MLAs on September 18 under the Anti-Defection Act. The MLAs, who were supporting ousted AIADMK Deputy General Secretary, now AMMK leader and RK Nagar MLA TTV Dhinakaran, were disqualified on the grounds that they had “voluntarily given up their party membership”.

Calling the Speaker’s decision illegal and unauthorised, the MLAs had moved the High Court seeking that the Speaker’s decision be quashed and their constitutional right be restored.

“The six-month period to conduct an election to the vacant assembly constituencies gets over in January only in two constituencies -- Tirupparankundram and Thiruvarur. Whenever the elections are going to be held for 20 constituencies, we will win a huge victory,” he said.

Expressing his confidence in winning the bye-elections, Dinakaran added that AMMK workers have been posted in all constituencies till the grassroots-level for the last since months.

Related Stories

No stories found.
The News Minute