Voters in Telangana 2023 Assembly polls
Voters in Telangana 2023 Assembly pollsPTI

LIVE BLOG: Exit polls predict Congress win in Telangana

Voting for the Telangana Assembly elections 2023 is being held in a single phase on Thursday, November 30.

Telangana witnessed 64.14% voter turnout in the 2023 Assembly elections. Hyderabad, recorded the least polling at 40.51%.

Voting is underway for the 2023 Telangana Assembly elections. Polling will continue from 7 am to 5 pm on Thursday, November 30, counting will take place on December 3. Telangana has witnessed a heated campaign between the ruling BRS and Congress, and the BJP too made its presence felt. BRS, which has been in power ever since the state was formed, is aiming to retain power for a third time, while Congress is aiming to form the government for the first time.

While BRS is contesting in all 119 seats, Congress is contesting in 118, leaving one seat, Kothagudem, to its ally CPI. BJP is contesting in 111 seats, and as per the party’s seat-sharing agreement, Pawan Kalyan’s Jana Sena Party is contesting in the remaining eight seats. Asaduddin Owaisi’s AIMIM is contesting from nine seats in Hyderabad.

Republic TV-Matrize survey says that Congress is likely to win 58-68 seats, while the BRS may get 46-56 seats. BJP’s seat share will increase from one seat in 2018 to 4-9 seats this time, and the AIMIM will stay stagnant or fall behind with 5-7.

India TV-CNX exit poll predicts a majority of 63-79 seats for Congress, with BRS procuring 39-47 seats. AIMIM may obtain 5-7 seats as per the exit poll.

Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) working president and incumbent IT Minister KT Rama Rao commented on the results of exit polls that predict a Congress win in the state.

"We have seen such exit polls before and it is not new for us to prove them wrong. On December 3, we will be back [in power] with over 70 seats," he said.

KTR also said that it is not right to release exit polls while voters are still standing in queue. He urged the Election Commission of India to take action on the matter.

As the polling for the 2023 Telangana Assembly elections concluded at 5 pm on Thursday, the state witnessed 64.14% voter turnout. The largest number of voters came to the polling booths in Medak, with 80.28% polling. Hyderabad, which saw the least polling this time, recorded just 40.51% turnout.

PSG exit polls predict a BRS win, with the party expected to win 53-58 seats. Congress is expected to follow with 49-54 seats, AIMIM with 6-7 seats, and BJP with 4-6 seats.

P-Marq's exit poll predicts a potential Congress victory with 58-71 seats. At least 60 seats is required to gain a majority. BRS is predicted to win 37-51 seats, while BJP and AIMIM are predicted to get 2-6 and 6-8 seats each.

People's Pulse's exit poll for The South First predicts Congress win. It predicts 62-72 seats for Congress and 35-46 seats for BRS.

The exit poll of Chanakya Strategies suggests a Congress win, with 67-78 seats. BRS is predicted to come second with 22-30 seats, followed by BJP (6-9 seats), and MIM (6-7 seats)

Jan Ki Baat exit poll predicts "Congress surge" in Telangana. While Congress is predicted to win 48-64 seats, BRS is predicted to get 40-55 seats.

Bharat Rashtra Samiti (BRS) MLC and daughter of Telangana Chief Minister KCR, Kalvakuntla Kavitha, visited the Pedamma Talli temple in Jubilee Hills after the conclusion of polling.

Addressing the media, she expressed confidence in the BRS's performance, and said, "A pink wave is sweeping across Telangana. CM KCR will create history in Telangana by securing a third consecutive term. The reports coming in all over Telangana are very encouraging. As anticipated, we are moving towards a century. The people of Telangana have reposed their faith in KCR. It will be a hat-trick term for the BRS party."

As of 5 pm, Telangana has recorded 63.94% voter turnout. Medak remains the district with the highest polling, at 80.28%. Close behind is Jangaon with 80.23%. Hyderabad, which has been trailing behind in voter turnout since, has only recorded 39.97% polling so far.

Among individual Assembly constituencies, Jangaon has recorded 83.34% polling till 5 pm, which is the highest. Second highest polling has been recorded in Narsampet, with 83%. Yakutpura continues to be the constituency with the least polling, at just 27.87%.