Video: Massive ruckus in Karnataka Legislative Council, Deputy Chairman manhandled

The drama began over a no-confidence motion against Chairman of Legislative Council, Prathap Chandra Shetty.
Ruckus in Karnataka Legislative Council
Ruckus in Karnataka Legislative Council
Written by:

Just minutes after the Karnataka Legislative Council reconvened on Tuesday morning, ruckus broke out with Congress legislators objecting to Deputy Chairman SL Dharmegowda taking the Chair. When Congress legislators manhandled Dharmegowda of the JD(S), the marshals were summoned to intervene. However, BJP MLCs then tried to pull the Deputy Chairman back into his chair amidst the commotion. The Council has now been adjourned sine die. 

The drama began over a no-confidence motion against Chairman of the Legislative Council Prathap Chandra Shetty, who belongs to the Congress. Congress MLCs alleged that the Deputy Chairman forcibly occupied the chair after locking Prathap Chandra Shetty out. In the visuals, Congress MLCs Naseer Ahmed and Narayana Swamy are seen pulling the Deputy Chairman out of his chair. While Dharmegowda is seen resisting, BJP MLCs are seen pulling him back into the chair. Over a dozen marshals are visible, attempting to restore order and protect the Deputy Chairman. 

The Council was reconvened on December 15 after the Yediyurappa government petitioned the Governor that important Bills needed to be passed in the Council. The contentious Karnataka Prevention of Slaughter and Preservation of Cattle Bill, 2020, that was passed in the Assembly was among those which were to be tabled. 

The Council was also expected to take up the no-confidence motion the BJP has moved against Chairman Shetty as the ruling party commands a majority in the 75-member Upper House. BJP's leader in the Council Kota Srinivas Poojary requested Shetty to move the motion against him on December 11. Instead, Shetty adjourned the House on December 10 after declining to allow the motion, as it required a 14-day prior notice. "In our view, as the Council chairman (Shetty) does not enjoy the confidence of the House. He cannot adjourn the session abruptly when a motion against him and important Bills have to be passed," Poojary had told IANS. 

K Prathap Chandra Shetty was elected Chairman of the Legislative Council in November 2018 during the  tenure of the 14-month JD(S)-Congress coalition government. Deputy Chairman SL Dharmegowda, who was with the JD(S), was elected in December 2018.

Related Stories

No stories found.
The News Minute