YSRCP MP YV Subba Reddy officially sent a notice to the Secretary General of the LS to include the no-confidence motion for March 16 in the business of the House.

YSRCP to move no-confidence motion on March 16 against BJP gathers support
news Politics Thursday, March 15, 2018 - 17:06

All set to move a no-confidence motion in Parliament, a letter written by YSR Congress Party chief YS Jaganmohan Reddy was handed out to floor chiefs on Thursday by his party MPs.

Rajya Sabha MP YV Subba Reddy has officially sent a notice to the Secretary General of Lok Sabha to include the no-confidence motion for March 16 in the business of the House.

"At the outset, I would like to recall the acrimonious scenes and the insensitive manner in which the will of the Andhra Pradesh people was dusted out by brute force during the passing of the AP Reorganisation Act, 2014," Jagan's letter reads. 

Pointing out that the state was divided in an “undemocratic and brazenly dictatorial” manner, Jagan added that the "voice of dissent was gagged by the black out of telecast".

"I write this letter with the right earnest to muster support from your party in our fight for justice. The promises made by the Central Government and the assurances made on the floor of the Parliament during the debate were not kept. The residual state of Andhra Pradesh has been under utter neglect," the letter states.

Jagan also goes on to remind the MPs that then Prime Minister Manmohan Singh had promised Special Category Status (SCS) on the floor of the House.

"While both, the TDP (Telugu Desam Party) and the BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party), batted for SCS during electioneering, suddenly there were attempts to water down the issue and the talk of a 'Special Package' came into the scene, with the blessings of Andhra CM Chandrababu Naidu, which was nothing but eyewash," Jagan wrote.

Listing out five reasons as a rebuttal to the statements made against granting SCS to the state, Jagan adds that his party was moving a no-confidence motion on March 16, as the Centre did not fulfil its promise.

The YSRCP chief also reiterated his earlier statement that his party's MPs would resign on April 6 if the Centre did not act before the deadline. 

Last week, Jagan had demanded that the TDP quit the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance government. 

TDP ministers from the Modi government stepped down in protest against the Centre's failure to give Andhra Pradesh Special Category Status. 

However, they said that the TDP would continue to be part of the BJP-led NDA government, but none of its members would hold ministerial positions. 

“Though his two ministers had quit the Union Cabinet, TDP is not ready to extend its support to the no-confidence motion to be moved on March 16. We have also given them the option for moving the motion so that we can support it, but they are in no position to accept the proposal,’’ Jagan had alleged earlier.

The Jana Sena party-led by Pawan Kalyan has also backed the idea of a no-confidence motion against the Centre.

While the motion is not expected to affect the BJP-led government, it is a symbolic act to highlight the ‘injustice’ to Andhra Pradesh in the recently passed Union Budget.

Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.