In 2014 too, the district administration had held lucky draws in every constituency to ensure maximum voting.

Vote for anyone win phone or bike How this Telangana district is promoting voting
news Telangana 2018 Saturday, November 24, 2018 - 13:55

The Siddipet administration, in a bid to ensure maximum polling in the upcoming Telangana elections, has decided to attract voters in the district by promising lucky draw gifts to people who cast their vote on the polling day on December 7.

In 2014 too, in a similar initiative, the then district collector Smitha Sabharwal had organised a lucky draw for voters to ensure 100 per cent voting in polling stations across the district.

Siddipet district is in the spotlight as it is the stronghold of former irrigation minister and KCR’s nephew K Harish Rao. The caretaker Chief Minister of the state K Chandrasekhar Rao would also be contesting from Gajwel constituency, located in this district.

Reports quote Siddipet district administration officials as saying that the lucky draw will be held separately for men and women. The token would be given to every voter who will come to cast his/her vote. There would be a male and female winner who will be given a bike and a scooter, respectively. Mobile phones would be also be given away as gifts to five other lucky winners from each constituency, officials state. The lucky draws would be conducted mainly at polling booths which would see heavy voter turnout.

Speaking at an event, Siddipet collector Krishna Bhasker has promised NGOs and activists who work tirelessly to ensure a good voter turnout in every constituency will be felicitated during the next Republic day celebrations at the district headquarters.

He also urged people from Husnabad, Gajwel and Dubbak constituencies to ensure maximum voting on the polling day so that the district would be hailed as one of the best by the Election Commission.

Telangana will be going to polls on December 7 and the counting will be held on December 11. A total of 1,824 candidates are in the fray in the upcoming Telangana Legislative Assembly Elections. According to Chief Electoral Officer Rajat Kumar, the total number of voters in the state is 2,80,64,680 including 7,46,077 new voters.


Click here to follow TNM's coverage of the Telangana Assembly Elections 2018.


Show us some love and support our journalism by becoming a TNM Member - Click here.