A 1995 batch IPS officer, Rajiv will be replacing outgoing commissioner Mahesh Chanda Laddha.

Vizag gets new police commissioner as Rajiv Kumar Meena takes charge
news Law Friday, June 28, 2019 - 09:11

The coastal city of Visakhapatnam in Andhra Pradesh on Thursday got a new police chief as IPS officer Rajiv Kumar Meena took charge as the Commissioner of the city police.

A 1995 batch IPS officer, Rajiv will be replacing outgoing commissioner Mahesh Chanda Laddha, who was recently posted as the Inspector-General of Police (personnel) at the State Police headquarters in Amaravati.

“Our prime focus area will be to maintain the law and order. Property theft cases are on the rise and we shall launch initiatives to bring down such crimes. We already have a police station exclusively for cyber crimes. We will put in efforts to ensure speedy disposal of the cyber crime cases, with the help of the latest forensic and detection equipment,” Rajiv told reporters at his new office in Visakhapatnam on Thursday.

Praising the initiatives taken up by his predecessor, Rajiv added, "We will continue to safeguard the city and its peace loving atmosphere."

One of the key cases that Rajiv will have to look into is a rave party that was organised at Visakhapatnam's Rushikonda beach on April 13, that led to arrest of a drug peddling gang. 

The arrests of four people revealed that unemployed youth in their early and late 20s who were addicted to hard drugs like Lysergic acid diethylamide (LSD) and Methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA), more commonly known as Ecstasy, were turning peddlers to fund their addiction and make a quick buck in Visakhapatnam.

Read: Araku weed in return for LSD, Ecstasy: Vizag cops suspect barter deals in drug trade 

Last week, in the third major bureaucratic reshuffle in the state over the last one month, 22 IPS officers were transferred. Days after he took oath as the Chief Minister, Jagan Mohan Reddy had transferred 47 officers.

Following this, the state government transferred another 47 officers, including 43 IAS officers and one officer from the IPS, IFS, IRS and IRPS each. 

Several bureaucrats considered close to the previous government of N Chandrababu Naidu were either shunted to insignificant posts or asked to report to General Administration Department for further postings.

Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.