Vijay Sethupathi wins Best Actor at Indian Film Festival of Melbourne

The actor won the award for his role as a trans woman in 'Super Deluxe'.
Vijay Sethupathi wins Best Actor at Indian Film Festival of Melbourne
Vijay Sethupathi wins Best Actor at Indian Film Festival of Melbourne
Written by:

The 10th edition of the Indian Film Festival of Melbourne is currently underway in Victoria, Melbourne. The festival, which was launched on August 8, will go on till 17 August. The annual award festival was attended by several stars from Indian cinema such as Shah Rukh Khan, Vijay Sethupathi, Gayathrie Shankar, Tabu, Karan Johar, Arjun Kapoor, Sriram Raghavan, Rima Das and Zoya Akhtar.

Vijay Sethupathi has bagged the Best Actor award for his recent release Super Deluxe. The nominees who competed for the Best Actor award were Amitabh Bachchan for Badla - Hindi, Ayushmann Khurrana for Andhadhun - Hindi, Manoj Bajpayee for Bhonsle - Hindi, Namdev Gaurav for Namdev Bhau - In Search of Silence - Hindi, Mararthi, Ranveer Singh for Gully Boy - Hindi, Vicky Kaushal for Uri: The Surgical Strike - Hindi.

The Best Film Award was bagged by Zoya Akhtar's Gully Boy. National Award-winner Rima Das's Bulbul Can Sing won the award for Best Indie Film. Tabu got the Best Actress Award for her performance in Andhadhun and Sriram Raghavan got the Best Director Award for the same film.

Bollywood Superstar Shah Rukh Khan was felicitated with the Excellence in Cinema Award.

Vijay Sethupathi's Super Deluxe opened to rave reviews and still has the audience talking about it. The film had Vijay Sethupathi, Samantha, Fahadh Faasil, Ramya Krishnan, Mysskin, Bagavathy Perumal and Gayathrie Sankar among others, as part of the cast. Vijay Sethupathi played a trans woman in the film.

The film is produced by Thiagarajan Kumarraja under the banner Tyler Durden And Kino Fist and released by Y Not X. The movie is also all set to be remade soon in Bollywood, with Kumararaja himself directing it. The film had music by Yuvan Shankar Raja and directors Nalan Kumarasamy, Neelan K. Sekar and Mysskin have written the additional screenplay.

(Content provided by Digital Native)

Related Stories

No stories found.
The News Minute