The election is scheduled to be held on September 21, and parties have already announced their nominees.

UoH students election ASA and SFI team up to contest against ABVPImage: Facebook/UoH
news Student politics Sunday, September 17, 2017 - 08:23

The Ambedkar Students Association (ASA) and the Students Federation of India (SFI) have joined hands at the University of Hyderabad (UoH), ahead of the upcoming students' union election.

The election is scheduled to be held on September 21, and parties have already announced their nominees. 

“We will focus on social justice and to ensure students' entitlements. Apart from this, the Justice for Rohith Vemula movement will play a pivotal role in our agenda,” P Sreerag, presidential nominee of the ASA-SFI tie-up told ToI. 

Last year, the United Front for Social Justice (UFSJ) won the polls.

The UFSJ consisted of the SFI, the Dalit Students’ Union, the Tribal Students Forum, the Bahujan Students’ Front and the Telangana Vidyarthi Vedika.

Meanwhile, the National Students Union of India (NSUI) has only fielded one candidate for President, G Anju Rao.

Last year, the Ambedkar Students’ Association fought the battle alone, while the ABVP joined hands with the Other Backward Classes Association.

While Kuldeep Singh Nagi won the post of president, other winners included Suman Damera for General Secretary, P Vijay Kumar for Joint Secretary, Nakhrai Debarma for Cultural Secretary and Ushnish Das for Sports Secretary. 

Here are the list of nominees for this year.

Alliance for Social Justice

President : Sreerag P. (Ph.D regional studies)
Vice President: Lunavath Naresh (MPH Public Health)
General Secretary: Arif Ahammed (Ph.D Indian Diaspora)
Joint Secretary: Muhammed Ashique N.P (M.A Political Science)
Sports Secretary: Lolam Sravan Kumar (M.A Political Science)
Cultural Secretary: Gundeti Abhishek (M.A Anthropology)
GSCASH (IMA): Tinanjali Dam (IMA Economics)
GSCASH (P.G): Charu Nivedha R. (M.A Sociology)

The ABVP alliance's candidates can be found below.


Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.