Governor E S L Narasimhan will administer the oath to Khan, the senior most member of the Assembly, who represents Charminar constituency.

Traffic restrictions in Hyd as AIMIM MLA takes oath as Telangana pro-tem SpeakerMumtaz Ahmed Khan
news Politics Wednesday, January 16, 2019 - 07:34

The Hyderabad Traffic Police have requested commuters to avoid the Raj Bhavan road in the city, which houses the Governor’s residence, on Wednesday, in view of the swearing-in ceremony of Telangana pro-tem Speaker Mumtaz Ahmed Khan. Governor E S L Narasimhan will administer the oath to Khan, who represents Charminar constituency.

“The Raj Bhavan road from Monappa Island (Rajiv Gandhi Statue) to V V Statue Junction will witness heavy traffic. The traffic congestion is expected from 4 pm to 6 pm. On need basis, the traffic will be diverted or stopped at Monappa Island and V V Statue Junction. Panjagutta – Raj Bhavan Quarters Road (Metro Residency) will be closed for general traffic on both sides during this period,” a traffic advisory from the Addl Commissioner of the Hyderabad Traffic Police stated.

“All citizens are requested to take note of the above and take alternate routes to their destination and avoid the Raj Bhavan road during the specified timings and cooperate with the traffic police,” the advisory added.

Mumtaz Ahmed Khan of the All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM), the senior most member of the Assembly, will be the pro-tem speaker of the newly-elected Telangana Assembly, whose first session will commence on January 17.

On the first day, the newly elected MLAs will take oath one after another and the programme is likely to continue for about two hours, a statement from the Chief Minister's Office issued earlier this month said.

The same day, the schedule of election to the Speaker will be announced and the nomination process will commence. The next day, the Speaker's election will take place. Later, the Speaker will conduct the Business Advisory Council (BAC) meeting which will take a decision on the Governor's address on the following day.

On January 19, the Governor will address the House. The next day the House will introduce motion of thanks to the Governor's address and adopt the same.

Elections to the 119-member Assembly in Telangana were held on December 7 and the results announced on December 11, saw the TRS sweep the polls with 88 seats, while the Congress won 19 seats. The AIMIM retained the 7 seats that it had won in the 2014 elections, while the BJP managed to retain only one out of five constituencies where incumbent MLAs were contesting.


IANS inputs