news Tuesday, June 02, 2015 - 05:30
As Telangana celebrates a year of being an independent state, here is a timeline on some important events that would later lead to the birth of India's 29th state.   November 25, 1955 - The Andhra assembly passes a resolution to merge the region called Telangana into itself, while promising to safeguard the interests of the people in the state.   The once Nizam ruled, Urdu and Telugu speaking state feared that the once British ruled, English and Telugu speaking people would have an advantage over them and feared that their interests might be sidelined.   February 20, 1956 - A “Gentlemen’s Agreement” was signed between the Erstwhile Andhra Pradesh chief minister Bezawada Gopala Reddy and his then Hyderabad state counterpart Burgula Ramakrishna Rao to go ahead with the merger.   November 1, 1956 - The centre establishes a unified Andhra Pradesh. Mass migration ensues with a chunk of the Andhra population moving to Telangana - most of them to the already well established city of Hyderabad.   1969 - An agitation begins in Telangana, rising from a student movement,  with people protesting that the Gentlemen’s Agreement had failed them.   The agitation is short lived. The battle between the people and the Indira Gandhi led centre saw thousands of people thrown in jail while at least 300 protesters were shot by the police.   1971 - A few years after the agitation, the Telangana Praja Samithi (TPS) tries to take the democratic route to a separate state and wins 10 out of 11 seats in the 1971 Lok Sabha elections.   September 1971 - TPS chief Marri Chenna Reddy holds talks with Prime Minister Indira Gandhi following which the TPS merges with the Congress and the Telangana agitations eventually died down.   11 October, 1999 - TDP chief N Chandrababu Naidu takes the oath for his second spell as chief minister. Meanwhile, a TDP leader and close confidant of Naidu, K Chandrasekhar Rao seethes with anger at being rejected for a ministerial post at the last moment.   The same man later quit TDP and formed the Telangana Rashtra Samhiti (TRS).    27 April 2001 - The TRS is formed, which would later champion the cause of a separate Telangana. For the next few years, the TRS gradually ups the ante for a separate state, but to no avail.   2 September 2009 - A helicopter crash in the Nallamala forest which resulted in the death of then AP chief minister Y.S Rajashekar Reddy, saw new life pumped into KCR's political aspirations.   29 November, 2009 - the TRS chief undertakes an indefinite fast unto death, which ended with a statement from the then Union Home Minister P. Chidambaram on 9 December 2009 that the Centre had started the process of forming the state of Telangana.   3 February, 2010 - The Sri Krishna committee for Telangana, headed by former Supreme Court judge,  B.N. Srikrishna was formed, to look into demand for a separate state of Telangana.    30 December, 2010 - The Committee submitted its report to the Centre, with six suggestions to go ahead with. However, pro-Telangana activists dismissed the suggestions provided by the committee and went on with their demands.   A few more years of political turmoil continue. Hyderabad almost witnesses a complete shutdown until the centre gives in to the demands    June 2, 2014 - Telangana, India's 29th state was formed. TRS chief K Chandrasekhar Rao takes oath as chief minister.   Read - One year after bifurcation, how have Telangana and Andhra fared?    
Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.