The CMO said that the process had begun to form two new districts; Mulugu and Narayanpet.

Telangana to get two more districts KCR fulfils election promise
news Politics Monday, December 17, 2018 - 10:43

Keeping his election promises in mind, Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao who recently took over the reins of the state for a second term, directed officials on Sunday to begin the process of forming two new districts, Mulugu and Narayanpet. KCR spoke to Principal Secretary (Revenue) Rajeshwar Tiwari and asked him to take necessary steps for the same.

In an official release, the Chief Minister's Office (CMO) said that KCR also asked officials to initiate the process of formation of a new revenue division at Korutla and Ghattuppal mandal in Nalgonda District. The CM also said that Mallampally mandal in Bhupalapally District should be formed besides suggesting that the existing Gundala Mandal in Jangoan district be merged into Yadadri Bhuvangiri District.

In Bhanswada constituency, KCR suggested that Chanduru and Mosra divisions should be carved out, besides Ingurthy in Mahabubabad constituency. With the formation of the two new districts, Telangana's total count will go up to 33, from the 31 districts at present. KCR had promised to create the districts of Mulugu and Narayanpet while addressing campaign rallies in the state, ahead of the polls held on December 7. The CM had said that the process would be completed within three months of the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) coming to power. 

"I take 100% responsibility of making Narayanpet a district. The earlier CMs didn’t create a single district, but with your blessings I created 31 districts, it won’t be difficult for me to make Narayanpet the 32nd district,” KCR had promised a massive gathering in Narayanpet in November.   

"It is only when the villages are developed, the state and the country develop and as such one should concentrate on the development of villages. Officers concerned should appoint a village secretary to each and every gram panchayat in the state," the press release quoted KCR as saying. 

"As part of having one village secretary for each of the 12,751 Gram Panchayats in the state, the government has taken up recruitment of 9,355 Village secretaries. This is the first of its kind recruitment process after the creation of the New Zonal system. The recruitment process has also been completed," the release added.

Telangana was formed in 2014 with 10 districts. In 2016, the TRS government decided to split it into 31 districts, with KCR saying that it would enable better governance. While only 17 districts were planned initially, massive public protests broke out and the state government decided to increase the number of new districts to 21.

The new districts carved out were Siddipet, Jayashankar Bhupalapally, Jangaon, Jagtial, Yadadri Bhuvanagiri, Warangal, Pedapally, Sangareddy, Kamareddy, Mancherial, Bhadradri Kothagudem, Vikarabad, Rajanna-Sircilla, Asifabad, Suryapet, Wanaparthy, Nirmal, Mahabubabad, Nagarkurnool, Jogulamba Gadwal and Malkajgiri.


Show us some love and support our journalism by becoming a TNM Member - Click here.