The legislators said that their membership to the Assembly was yet to be restored, despite orders from the Hyderabad High Court.

Telangana Congress MLAs file contempt plea against Assembly secy over their expulsion
news Politics Wednesday, June 13, 2018 - 08:18

Expelled Telangana Congress MLAs Komatireddy Venkat Reddy and S A Sampath Kumar moved a contempt petition against state law secretary Niranjan Rao and secretary to the Legislative Assembly V. Narasimha Charyulu on Tuesday.

Stating that their membership to the Assembly was yet to be restored, despite orders from the Hyderabad High Court, the duo sought punishment against the two officials under the Contempt of Courts Act.

“We met the Speaker on Monday and submitted a memorandum asking him to restore our membership and all our privileges. We need to attend to the problems faced by the people in our respective constituencies. But there was no proper response from the Speaker and hence we were compelled to file the contempt petition,” Reddy was quoted as saying.

Pointing out that the court had also dismissed an appeal by TRS MLAs, which had challenged their reinstatement, the MLAs stated that the two officials were already aware of all developments in the case.

They also pointed out that there was no response within 30 days of the first order by the High Court, the legislators claimed that both the secretaries intentionally disobeyed the orders of the court.

Komatireddy Venkat Reddy and SA Sampath Kumar had approached the court earlier this year challenging their suspension from the House and also a gazette issued by the Legislature Secretary notifying vacancy for Nalgonda and Alampur (SC) Assembly constituencies.

The court then directed the Legislature Secretary to produce video footage of the incidents that took place during Governor ESL Narasimhan's address to the joint session of Assembly and Legislative Council on March 12.

The opposition Congress members tried to disrupt the Governor's address on the first day of the budget session of the state legislature. Amid the ruckus, the Congress members threw headphones, injuring Council Chairman K. Swami Goud in his eye.

The next day, the Assembly passed a resolution expelling two Congress members and suspending 11 others for the rest of the session.

Venkat Reddy and Sampath Kumar, were the two members who were expelled. 


IANS inputs

Show us some love and support our journalism by becoming a TNM Member - Click here.