Chowdary clarified that they are still a part of the NDA.

TDP ministers Gajapathi Raju and Y S Chowdary submit resignation to Modi
news Special Status Thursday, March 08, 2018 - 19:58

As announced by Andhra CM and Telugu Desam Party supremo Chandrababu Naidu, ministers P Ashok Gajapathi Raju and Y S Chowdary quit the union cabinet on Thursday evening.

Ashok Gajapathi Raju was the Union Minister for Civil Aviation and Y S Chowdary was the Minister of State for Science and Technology & Earth Sciences.

The two ministers drove to Prime Minister Narendra Modi's residence and tendered their resignations on Thursday evening. This was in accordance with the decision announced by Naidu after the Centre justified the denial of Special Category Status to Andhra.

Speaking to the media, Gajapathi Raju said that the Centre was viewing the Andhra people as ‘residue material’.

“The issue of Special Category Status should have been addressed by the Centre a long time ago,” Gajapathi Raju said.

After submitting the resignation, YS Chowdary said, “We wanted to give the resignations personally as we have served under him.”

“I don't think it's fair on our part to expect PM to deal with these issues. It's for the concerned ministries to take up. A considerable amount of time has already lapsed. The sentiments of the Andhra has to be addressed by Chandrababu Naidu, and in these circumstances, unless we support our people, we hear them out and work for it, it does not make sense. So, our leader has made a made the right decision to come out of the government. As per the direction of our party president, we resigned today,” Chowdary said.

Chowdary also clarified that they are still a part of the NDA.

“We will continue to be a part of the NDA, but not take up any ministerial positions. I don't think there is anything wrong in that,” he added.

When asked about PM Modi’s call to the Andhra CM Naidu on Thursday evening, Raju responded that it was between the two leaders.

“That is among the leaders. They will know.. and they will interact. We will not interpret what the leaders spoke amongst themselves,” he said.



Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.