TDP MPs have been meeting leaders of various parties, handing over their booklet ‘Saga of Broken Promises’.

TDP leaders meet Arvind Kejriwal seek support for fight against BJPTDP MPs meet Kejriwal
news Politics Thursday, July 19, 2018 - 11:51

Even as TDP leaders are trying to get support from various quarters in Delhi ahead of the no confidence motion in Lok Sabha on Friday, another team from the party is on a different agenda.

Led by TDP Parliamentary Party leader YS Chowdary, a team of MPs met Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal on Thursday to bring him a letter from Chandrababu Naidu, along with a special booklet produced by the party – ‘Saga of Broken Promises’.

On Thursday morning, several party leaders met Delhi Chief Minister and AAP leader Arvind Kejriwal at his residence, seeking his party’s support in the TDP’s fight against the BJP. TDP Parliamentary Party leader YS Chowdary along with TDP MPs K Narayana, Malyadri Sriram, Nimmala Kristappa, and TG Venkatesh were part of the team that met Arvind Kejriwal.

According to sources, Chandrababu Naidu has asked his MPs in Delhi to meet non-Congress and non-BJP leaders, and convince them to support TDP in its fight. The ‘Saga of Broken Promises’ reportedly has details of the injustices done by the BJP towards TDP.  The booklet – which has been translated into Tamil, Kannada and Malayalam – will be given to several MPs, during Monsoon session of the parliament.

Before the meeting with Kejriwal, a group of TDP leaders including CM Ramesh met DMK leader Kanimozhi on Monday, and sought her party’s support.

The contents of ‘Saga of Broken Promises’ – just like TDP’s discontent with the BJP led Centre – centres around the denial of Special Category Status to Andhra Pradesh.

The TDP – which was in alliance with the BJP – broke away from the alliance because the Centre refused to give Special Category Status to Andhra Pradesh. In March this year, the TDP pulled out of its coalition with the BJP as the Centre did not grant Special Category status to Andhra Pradesh. Prior to that, TDP ministers Ashok Gajapathi Raju and Y S Chowdary resigned from the Union Cabinet over the same issue.

The demand for Special Category status for Andhra Pradesh was made after the formation of Telangana in 2014.

Following the break-up of the BJP and the TDP, the ruling party in Andhra has been going all out against their former ally. On Wednesday, the TDP – along with Congress and NCP – moved a no-confidence motion in the Lok Sabha. The party has been demanding a floor test since the last session of Parliament – however, it was only accepted by Speaker Sumitra Mahajan on Wednesday.

While BJP is likely to win the floor test comfortably, this is the first time in 15 years that a ruling party has been forced to prove its majority on the floor of the House.

The debate and the vote will be held on Friday.