Tamil Nadu declares state holiday in April for poll day

In addition to polling for the 39 Lok Sabha constituencies, Tamil Nadu will simultaneously vote in 18 assembly bye-polls due in the state.
Tamil Nadu declares state holiday in April for poll day
Tamil Nadu declares state holiday in April for poll day
Written by:

The Tamil Nadu government has passed an order making poll day, Thursday, April 18, a holiday in the state. Tamil Nadu will witness polls to 39 Lok Sabha constituencies as well as 18 assembly constituencies in the state. A recommendation to this effect has also been made to the Election Commission in the state.

According to one report in The New Indian Express, the government order, signed by Tamil Nadu Chief Secretary Girija Vaidyanathan said, "The Governor of Tamil Nadu hereby declares April 18, the date on which the polls for the General Elections and bye-elections to 18 assembly constituencies will take place in Tamil Nadu, to be a public holiday." The declaration was reportedly made under Section 25 of the Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881.

Tamil Nadu will go to polls on Thursday, April 18, 2019 for the 39 Lok Sabha constituencies across the state. The Lok Sabha Elections will take place in a single phase in the state and as well as the Union Territory of Puducherry.

Along with the Lok Sabha elections, the EC has also decided to hold bye-polls for the 18 assembly seats out of 21 seats that have been lying vacant for some months now. While 18 MLAs were disqualified by the Madras High Court in October last year under the Anti Defection Law for declaring their support to AMMK’s TTV Dhinakaran, MLAs M Karunanidhi (DMK, Thiruvarur), AK Bose (AIADMK, Thirupparankundram) died in office. Hosur MLA and Minister Balakrishna Reddy was disqualified following his three-year imprisonment in a criminal case. However, Ottapidaram, Aravakurichi and Tirupparamkundram assembly bye-elections will not be held on April 18 since there are cases related to these assembly seats pending in the court.

Results for both contests would be announced on May 23. The bye-poll constituencies that will go to polls on April 18 are Poonamallee (SC), Perambur, Thiruporur, Sholingur, Gudiyattham (SC), Ambur, Hosur, Pappireddippatti, Harur (SC), Nilakkottai (SC), Thiruvarur, Thanjavur, Manamadurai (SC), Andipatti, Periyakulam (SC), Sattur, Paramakudi (SC) and Vilathikulam.

Related Stories

No stories found.
The News Minute