Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan announced the probe at a press meet on Wednesday.

Solar Scam ADGP Rajesh Dewan to head SIT probe against former CM Oommen Chandy
news Solar Scam Thursday, October 12, 2017 - 09:26

Additional Director General of Police, North Zone, Rajesh Dewan will head the six-member SIT that will probe the criminal case against former Chief Minister Oommen Chandy in the solar scam.

Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan announced the probe at a press meet on Wednesday.

The CM had said that the action against Congress leaders is based on the findings report of Justice G Sivarajan Commission and for the follow-up action, the government had received legal advice.

The SIT comprises Inspector General of Police (Headquarters) Dinendra Kashyap, PB Rajeev, SP Crime Branch and others, reports the Hindu.

DGP Crime Branch A Hemachandran had faced the heat earlier after the Commission found that the SIT headed by him, had tried to save the culprits including Oommen Chandy, from facing criminal charges.

Hemachandran has been posted as the Managing Director of Kerala State Road Transport Corporation. 

ADGP K Padmakumar who the Commission had found, along with DySP K Harikumar, to be instrumental in destroying the evidence to favour politicians, has been shifted from the post of the Director of Kerala Police Academy. He has been posted as Managing Director of Marketfed. 

On Wednesday, the state cabinet decided to file cases of sexual assault against many prominent leaders of the Congress.

Criminal cases will be taken against all those named by Saritha S Nair in her letter, the CM said. 

"Though the Commission found her allegations to be true, the SIT had not probed this," the CM said. 

Saritha S Nair, the prime accused in the solar scam, reportedly accused Oommen Chandy, former ministers Aryadan Muhamamed and AP Anil Kumar , MLAs Hibi Eden and Adoor Prakash, MPs KC Venugopal and Jose K Mani of sexually assaulting her.

Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.