The 5 districts are Kottayam, Kozhikode, Kollam, Thiruvanthapuram and Kannur.

news Heat Wave Monday, May 02, 2016 - 13:11

With the met department issuing a heat wave warning for the coming days, schools across 5 districts in Kerala will remain closed following a directive from the district administration.

The strict instructions were issued in Kottayam, Kozhikode, Kollam, Thiruvanthapuram and Kannur in view of the increasing incidence of sunstroke in the state.

While schools in Kozhikode will remain closed till May 8, those in Kottayam will be shut till May 5. Schools in Kollam and Thiruvanthapuram will remain closed till May 20 while those in Kannur will remain closed till May 9.

N Prasanth, the Kozhikode District Collector, has also asked tuition centres to remain shut during these days.

Any violations to this directive can be brought to the notice of the collector by contacting 0495 2371400.


News, views and interviews- Follow our election coverage.

Click TN Election Special

Click Kerala Election Special

Show us some love and support our journalism by becoming a TNM Member - Click here.