The former MP was suspended for abusing Uttam Kumar Reddy and RC Khuntia in the review meeting.

Ruckus in meeting Telangana Congress suspends former MP Sarvey SatyanarayanaIdreams YouTube/screenshot
news Politics Sunday, January 06, 2019 - 19:44

Telangana  Congress on Sunday suspended former MP Sarvey Satyanarayana, for allegedly misbehaving and abusing TPCC chief Uttam Kumar Reddy and AICC leader RC Khuntia who was in-charge for the Telangana elections.

In the review meeting which was held on Sunday to examine the party's failure in the 2018 elections, Satyanarayana held both Uttam Kumar and Khuntia responsible for the drubbing in Telangana.

According to reports, besides abusing them, Satyanarayana went on to physically attack Uttam Kumar. However, TPCC general secretary Bollu Kishan and Mahesh Goud stopped him. In this commotion, Kishan's shirt was torn and a water bottle aimed at Uttam hit him. As a result both Kishan and Satyanarayana got into verbal duel and almost physically attacked each other.

For creating ruckus in the meeting and misbehaviour, Satyanarayana has been suspended since by the party Disciplinary Committee.

Storming out of the meeting, Satyanarayana addressing the media said that a few leaders who didn't agree to his views about the performance of the Congress provoked some goons (referring to Kishan).

He further alleged that Uttam Kumar Reddy had given General Secretary posts to unqualified people and said that the High Command should take notice of this incident.

“They attacked me because I am a Dalit,” he said.

The Congress in its official press statement contradicted the allegation made by Satyanarayana. According to the party, Satyanarayana had deviated from the agenda of the meeting and made unacceptable remarks against Uttam Kumar and Khuntia.

Satyanarayana had unsuccessfully contested from the Secunderabad Cantonment Assembly seat in the recently held elections. He lost to TRS candidate G Sayanna who got 65,977 votes, while the former MP could only manage to get 28,234 votes.

Satyanarayana had joined the Congress after quitting the TDP and won from Siddipet Assembly seat in the 2004 elections, and in the subsequent 2009 elections from Malkajgiri constituency.


Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.