The Supreme Court on Tuesday asked the rebel Karnataka MLAs to hand over a memo to the registrar for urgent listing of their plea.

Rebel Karnataka MLAs move Supreme Court seeking urgent hearing
news Politics Wednesday, August 14, 2019 - 10:28

The Supreme Court on Tuesday asked the rebel Karnataka MLAs to hand over a memo to the registrar for urgent listing of their plea challenging their disqualification from the state Assembly.

The rebel MLAs earlier moved the apex court seeking urgent listing of their plea. 

The legislators have sought the court's directions to quash the former Assembly Speaker's decision to disqualify them from the House.

On July 28, then state Assembly Speaker K.R. Ramesh Kumar disqualified the 14 rebel MLAs, rejecting the resignations tendered by them. 

The 14 MLAs had remained absent from the House on July 23 when former Chief Minister H.D. Kumaraswamy put the confidence motion to vote. 

Eleven Congress lawmakers were disqualified -- Pratap Gouda Patil (Maski), B.C. Patil (Hirekerur), Shivaram Hebbar (Yellapur), S.T. Someshekhar (Yeshwantapur), Byrati Basavraj (K.R. Puram), Anand Singh (Vijayanagar), R. Roshan Baig (Shivajinagar), Muniratna (R.R. Nagar), K. Sudhakar (Chikkaballapur), M.T.B. Nagaraj (Hoskote) and Shrimant Patil (Kagawad).

The three Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) legislators who were disqualified are A.H. Vishwanath (Hunsur), Narayan Gowda (K.R. Pete) and K. Gopalaiah (Mahalakshmi Layout).

The MLAs said that the actions of the then Speaker were in gross violation of the orders passed by the apex court, completely illegal and unconstitutional. The political scenario in Karnataka has recently undergone changes with Kumaraswamy losing the trust vote and BJP leader B.S. Yediyurappa forming the current government.

Earlier, on August 1, the 14 rebel MLAs had moved the Supreme Court against their disqualification.

The rebels had requested the court to ask for the records of the proceedings before the then Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar, pertaining to the resignation and disqualification proceedings against them. They had further requested that an appropriate writ, order or direction be issued by the Supreme Court to quash and set aside the Speaker’s order dated July 28, 2019, which rejected the resignations of the rebels and disqualified them. The rebels said that they had tendered their resignations on July 6, prior to the Congress filing disqualification petitions against them, which was on July 12.

All the disqualifications were made under Section 2 (1) (a) of the Tenth Schedule of the Indian Constitution read with Article 19 (1) (2).

With IANS inputs

Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.