news Monday, February 16, 2015 - 05:30
The News Minute | February 16, 2015 | 05.20 pm IST The results for the Srirangam by-poll in Tamil Nadu saw the ruling party, the AIADMK, cruise through with an easy victory, as others in the fray were trailing behind at a comfortable distance. Winning with a margin of almost a lakh votes, the AIADMK which has enjoyed mass support in Srirangam for a number of years sat back and enjoyed the fruits of its campaign in the run up to the elections. However, what was interesting were the other main players in the game. Leaving aside the DMK which came second at 55,045 votes, the real surprise came from the BJP, a relatively unknown independent candidate Traffic Ramaswamy and last but not the least - NOTA (None of the Above). While the BJP put up a tough fight reaching 4834 votes - a decent count for a national party that decided only recently to field its own candidate in the by poll, independent candidate KR Ramaswamy or Traffic Ramaswamy as he is better known won 1149 votes - the highest by an independent candidate. He even entered into an argument with the BJP after he tore down a flex board installed at a marriage venue which bore the images of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Minnister Pon Radhakrishnan. Finding the banner sporting images of the BJP leaders at the wedding venue of District BJP unit general secretary Thanga Rajaiyyan’s daughter, he had alleged that the Model of Conduct had been violated ahead of the polls, reported New Indian Express. Known for decades of relentless activism that has changed a number of laws in Tamil Nadu, Traffic Ramaswamy surprised many when he entered the high-profile election in Srirangam vacated by AIADMK chief and former Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa. Interestingly, NOTA played a prominent role in the entire elections garnering 1855 votes - a number which surpassed the votes that CPI(M) could get on its own - 1552. In an election fraught with allegations of bribery , at the end of 23 rounds on counting day, the AIADMK emerged a clear winner with 1,51,561 votes, the DMK- 55,045 votes, BJP- 5015 and CPI(M)- 1552. Read Traffic Ramaswamy - one man in Chennai everyone needs to know about Tweet Follow @thenewsminute
Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.