Jayasudha said that she has no interest in contesting in elections at present but would act as per the orders of the party leadership.

Popular Telugu actor Jayasudha officially joins YSRCP
news Politics Thursday, March 07, 2019 - 17:54

Well known telugu actor Jayasudha has officially joined Jagan Mohan Reddy’s YSRCP, switching over from the ruling TDP. She met Jagan and joined the party in Hyderabad on Thursday.

Jayasudha was a Congress MLA from Secunderabad until 2014. Later, she joined TDP in 2016, and has now jumped ship again. Speaking to reporters in Hyderabad after joining the party, she expressed her happiness on coming back into active politics .

When reporters asked her why she wasn’t in active politics after she joined TDP, Jayasudha said, “There was no guidance on what to do," and remembered that she had the guidance of late YS Rajasekhara Reddy – former CM of united Andhra and Jagan’s father – when she was in the Congress.

She further added that she has no interest in contesting in elections at present but would act as per the orders of the party leadership

She said, "YS Jagan will be the CM of Andhra Pradesh and I will work according to party guidelines. I’m really happy to join YSRCP and it's like I am back home.”

Replying to a query about actor Nagarjuna's recent meeting with Jagan Mohan Reddy, she said people from the film industry, too, are a part of the democratic electoral system, and can meet anyone.

Jayasudha is a well known actor in Telugu. She acted in lead roles in the late 1970s and 1980s  with all the top heroes of Telugu Film Industry including NTR, Akkineni Nageswara Rao, Krishna, Sobhan Babu, and Chiranjeevi.

Days before Jayasudha quit TDP, Guntur West MLA Venugopala Reddy quit TDP over not getting an MLA ticket. Several MLAs and MPs have joined the YSRCP in the last two months, including Amalapuram MP Pandula Ravindra Babu; Chirala MLA Amanchi Krishna; Anakapalle MP M Srinivas Rao; and leaders like former MLA Challa Ramakrishna Reddy, among others.

175 assembly constituencies and 25 Lok Sabha constituencies in the state will go to the polls soon.


Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.