Anbumani Rmadoss currently serves as Member of Parliament from Dharmapuri constituency

PMK fields Anbumani Ramadoss in Pennagaram GK Mani in Mettur
news TN 2016 Monday, April 18, 2016 - 09:51

PMK leader and Chief Ministerial candidate Anbumani Ramadoss will contest from Pennagaram, an Assembly constituency as part of the Lok Sabha constituency of Dharmapuri. 

Anbumani currently serves as a member of parliament from Dharmapuri constituency. Previously, the 2010 bypolls saw the then ruling DMK in Tamil Nadu retaining the Pennagaram Assembly seat in the bypoll, romping home in PMK's citadel and leaving a AIADMK in the third spot. 

Despite the by-poll loss, the constituency is a PMK stronghold and Ramadoss had earlier hailed the ‘Pennagaram formula’ of complete prohibition, and compulsory, standard and equitable education to be implemented across 70 constituencies.

The PMK had fielded party president GK Mani’s son GKM Tamil Kumaran during the bypolls. 

PMK President GK Mani will contest from Mettur constituency in Salem where he was elected from in 2006. He was also elected twice from Pennagaram constituency in 1996 and 2001. DMDK’s SR Parthiban is the current MLA GK Mani had lost out to in the 2011 elections

Show us some love and support our journalism by becoming a TNM Member - Click here.