The film, directed by GVR Vasu, is scheduled for release on January 18.

Oppam script redrafted with new elements for Shivarajkumars Kavacha
Flix Sandalwood Friday, January 04, 2019 - 18:06
Written by  Digital Native

Sandalwood star Shivarajkumar’s fans are eagerly awaiting the release of his upcoming film Kavacha, which is directed by GVR Vasu. The film, inspired by the 2016 Malayalam blockbuster Oppam, is scheduled for release on January 18. Speaking about the film in a recent interview to Cinema Express, GVR Vasu said, “Ours is not a copy of the original. Also, Shivarajkumar does not prefer remakes and accepted the film only after the script was redrafted. This action-thriller has new elements, which is what Shivanna’s fans look forward to.”

From what the director said, it seems clear that fans can expect some new twists in Kavacha. It may be noted here that Oppam had Mohanlal playing the lead role, with Priyadarshan wielding the megaphone. The film was a big hit and won several prestigious awards.

Shivarajkumar plays the lead role in Kavacha with Kruthika Jayakumar playing the lead opposite him. The star cast also includes Isha Koppikar, Baby Meenakshi and Vasishta N Simha in pivotal roles. Shivarajkumar is to appear as a blind man in the movie and, according to sources, his performance has been top notch. Kavacha is being bankrolled by MVV Sathyanarayanan. Rahul Shrivastav is cranking the camera for it and the music for the film is composed by Arjun Janya.

Hosa belaku mooduthide, one of the most popular songs picturised on the legendary Kannada actor and Shivarajkumar’s father, Dr Rajkumar, in the film Hosa Belaku, will be remixed for Kavacha. GVR Vasu confirmed that the rejigged version of the popular song will feature in the film and said that it would be the film’s highlight.

The star’s last film release was The Villain, which did very well at the box office. Directed by Prem, it is a multi-starrer that had Shivarajkumar sharing screen space with Kiccha Sudeep. The rest of the cast included Amy Jackson, Srikanth, Mithun Chakraborty and Sruthi Hariharan.

(Content provided by Digital Native)