Congress spokesperson Sravan Dasoju had also objected to the EC issuing pink colour ballot papers.

No pink booth for women in Telangana polls Election Commission after Cong complaint
news Telangana 2018 Sunday, November 18, 2018 - 10:47

The Election Commission has decided against using ‘pink-coloured booths’ for women polling stations in Telangana after the Congress party complained that pink colour represents the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) party. The EC said that there will not be any colour-specific booths in the upcoming Telangana polls scheduled to be held on December 7.

Addressing the media on Saturday, Chief Electoral Officer Rajat Kumar said, “This is to avoid any inadvertent use of the colour of any particular political party in or at such polling booths.” Kumar further added that the woman employed at the polling booths can wear clothes of any colour of their choice.

“No single colour should be used for paraphernalia associated with the construction of such polling stations,” News 18 quoted him saying.  

A few days ago, Congress spokesperson Sravan Dasoju gave a representation to the EC against designing women booths in pink colour, as the colour is associated with the K Chandrasekhar Rao-led TRS party.

Sravan also objected to the EC issuing pink colour ballot papers, claiming that it is against the spirit of free and fair elections. He said that the EC took no action against their objection to print pink ballot paper, thereby unconstitutionally favouring the TRS party.  

He earlier had said, “It is incumbent on the ECI to fulfil the constitutional responsibilities and ensure that free and fair elections are conducted in Telangana.”

The ECI had proposed printing 90 lakh ballot papers in pink colour.
Meanwhile, a total of 643 candidates filed their nominations on Saturday, which included several key leaders like Akbaruddin Owaisi, G Kishan Reddy and Nandamuri Harikrishna’s daughter, Suhasini. According to EC, from the Congress, a total of 57 candidates filed their nominations on day 6, 56 from BJP, 44 from TRS, 40 from BSP, 16 from TDP, 12 from NCP, 12 from CPI (M) and 1 each from YSRCP and CPI.

These nominations will be scrutinised on November 20. The last date for candidature withdrawal is November 22. The assembly elections results will be announced on December 11.



Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.