In the trial allotments for the academic year 2018-19, KUHS has released a list of 12 private colleges for dental and MBBS admissions.

Many Kerala colleges lose affiliation ahead of trial allotments for MBBS dental seats
news Education Friday, June 29, 2018 - 13:02

The Kerala University of Health Sciences (KUHS) has suspended the affiliation of several medical and dental colleges in Kerala ahead of the trial allotments for the academic year 2018-2019.

The aspirants had a choice of 16 private medical colleges to apply to. However, in the trial allotment published on Thursday, only 12 private colleges were featured.

The colleges which did not make it to the list in the trial allotment include Azeezia Institute of Medical Science and Research, Kollam; Kannur Medical College, Kannur; Dr Somervell Memorial CSI Medical College, Karakonam; SUT Academy of Medical Sciences, Vattappara; and Government Medical College, Ernakulam.

These colleges will not be permitted to admit any students for the upcoming academic year. This means only 2,300 medical seats - that includes 1,100 all-India seats and 1,200 private seats - are available for this year’s allotment rounds.

The affiliation of some dental colleges has also been suspended.

Century Dental College (Kasargod), Indira Gandhi Institute of Dental Science (Ernakulam), dental colleges of Kannur and Pariyaram have lost their affiliation. However, these colleges are available to be marked as options during online allotment. Further decisions on seat allotment will be made by the KUHS later.

The KUHS governing council will be convening a meeting on July 7 where permission may be granted to those medical and dental colleges that have been granted an opportunity till then to prove that they are fully compliant to the educational standards required.

KUHS Vice-Chancellor MKC Nair said, “The interests of the students would be protected even while ensuring that the medical colleges abide by the norms and standards.”

The first phase of online options will end on June 29, while the first allotment list will be published on June 30.

Earlier, the Medical Council of India had denied permission to conduct MBBS admissions in 2018-19 to the Palakkad Government Medical college and eight other private self-financing medical colleges in Kerala. These include: SR Medical College and Research Centre, Varkala; Kerala Medical College, Palakkad; P.K. Das Institute of Medical Sciences, Palakkad; Mount Zion Medical College, Pathanamthitta; Al Azhar Medical College, Thodupuzha; and DM WIMS, Wayanad; KMCT Medical College, Kozhikode; and Dr. Somervell CSI Medical College, Karakonam.


Show us some love and support our journalism by becoming a TNM Member - Click here.