The most important swaps include that of the top brass in the state’s Intelligence, Lokayukta and the Anti-Corruption Bureau (ACB).

Major reshuffle in Karnataka police top brass as CM HD Kumaraswamy makes 23 changes
news Adminitration Sunday, September 16, 2018 - 13:43

Karnataka CM HD Kumaraswamy, who also holds the portfolio of the Department of Personnel and Administrative Reforms, made more than 20 changes in the state’s Indian Police Service (IPS) postings in another reshuffle on Saturday. The most important swaps include that of the top brass in the state’s Intelligence, Lokayukta and the Anti-Corruption Bureau (ACB). This major rejig comes after the CM alleged that the opposition, backed by the gambling mafia, was trying to topple the government.

In a circular issued on Saturday evening, 2004-batch officer Sandeep Patil who was the Deputy Inspector General of Police (Intelligence) has been shunted out as the DIG and Joint Commissioner of Police, CAR units (City Armed Reserve), Bengaluru city.

1987 batch officer Alok Mohan who was posted as the Additional Director General of Police (ADGP) ACB has been shifted out and made the ADGP, Railways, Bengaluru. Similarly, ADGP Lokayukta Sanjay Sahay of 1989 batch has been transferred as ADGP Police Computer Wing. Instead 1992-batch Alikana S Murthy (formerly ADGP Forest Cell) has been made the ADGP of Lokayukta while leaving the position of ADGP of the ACB vacant. Ram Niwas Sepat (2008 batch) who was posted as Deputy Commissioner of Police (Crime) Bengaluru has been made the SP of ACB replacing S Girish who will take the DCP (Crime) post.

AN Prakash Gwda who was the Director of Security and Vigilance at BMTC has been made the Hassan SP.

Other changes made on Saturday include posting 1989 batch officer PS Sandhu who was without a position as ADGP Commissioner for Traffic and Road Safety. His batchmate P Ravindranath, formerly ADGP Computer Wing, was made ADGP Forest Cell.

1994 batch officer Alok Kumar who was posted as Inspector General of Police Northern Range, Belagavi has now been made the Additional Commissioner of Police (ACP) (Crime) Bengaluru. N Sateesh Kumar of 2003 batch who held the position of ACP (Crime) has been transferred as the Deputy Inspector General (DIG) of Karnataka State Reserve Police.

The DIG Prisons position which was left vacant by IPS officer Roopa has been given to 2004 batch officer PS Harsha who was waiting for a posting. Similarly, KT Balakrishna and P Rajendra Prasad (both of 2006 batch) who were waiting for a posting have been made Superintendent of Police (SP), Intelligence (Administration) and SP Wireless Bengaluru City, respectively.

Yadgir SP Ida Martin Marbaniang of 2009 batch has been made the DCP (Traffic West Division, Bengaluru City).

Bheemashankar S Guled and G Radhika, both 2012 batch officers who were waiting for postings, have been made SP, Railways, Bengaluru and Assistant IGP at the DGP’s office in Bengaluru, respectively.

Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.