Lok Sabha polls 2019: Full list of YSRCP candidates in Andhra Pradesh

The YSRCP is aiming to storm into power and is pegging its hopes on the recent success of party chief Jagan Mohan Reddy's Praja Sankalpa Yatra.
Lok Sabha polls 2019: Full list of YSRCP candidates in Andhra Pradesh
Lok Sabha polls 2019: Full list of YSRCP candidates in Andhra Pradesh
Written by:

The opposition YSRCP in Andhra Pradesh is all set for the big political contest in the state as it goes up against the ruling Telugu Desam Party (TDP). The YSRCP aims to storm into power and is pegging its hopes on the recent success of the Praja Sankalpa Yatra, a 3,648 km-long ‘padayatra’ or walkathon that party chief Jagan Mohan Reddy undertook over the span of more than a year, covering all districts in the state.

However, there are chances that actor-politician Pawan Kalyan’s Jana Sena Party and his alliance with the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and Left parties may cut into the YSRCP vote bank during the elections, scheduled for April 11.

Here’s the full list of YSRCP candidates for each of the 25 Lok Sabha seats in the state:

1. Srikakulam

The YSRCP has fielded Duvvada Srinivas, a long-time party loyalist.

2. Vizianagaram

Bellani Chandrasekhar, a former Congress leader reported to be a close aide of YSRCP spokesperson Botsa Satyanarayana, will contest from the YSRCP.

3. Visakhapatnam

The YSRCP has fielded MVV Satyanarayana, a newcomer into politics who built a business with real estate and producing films.

4. Araku

The YSRCP is banking on Goddeti Madhavi, a school teacher who is also the daughter of former CPI MLA, G Demudu.

5. Anakapalli

The YSRCP has fielded a newcomer, Kandregula Satyavathi, who recently joined the party.

6. Kakinada

The YSRCP has fielded Vanga Geetha, a former MLA who was once with the Praja Rajyam Party founded by actor-politician Chiranjeevi.

7. Rajahmundry

Mangana Bharath, a newcomer, will be contesting on the YSRCP ticket.

8. Narsapuram

Industrialist Raghuram Krishnam Raju, the Chairman and Managing Director of Ind-Barath Power Infra Limited (IBPL), has been fielded by the YSRCP.

9. Amalapuram

The YSRCP has fielded Chinta Anuradha, the daughter of former MP Chinta Krishnamurthy.

10. Eluru

Kotagiri Sridhar, the son of former minister Kotagiri Vidyasagara Rao, had joined the YSRCP in 2017 and has been given a party ticket.

11. Vijayawada

P Vara Prasad, an industrialist who owns several malls along with PVP ventures and had joined the YSRCP earlier this month, is the party candidate here.

12. Machilipatanam

The YSRCP has renominated senior leader Bala Souri, a former MLA, who had come second in the 2014 elections for the same seat.

13. Guntur

Modugula Venugopala Reddy, the son of freedom fighter Papireddy, who quit the TDP in February this year, has been fielded by the YSRCP.

14. Narasaraopeta

Lavu Krishnadevaraya, the vice-chairman of the Vignan group of educational institutions, will contest on a YSRCP ticket.

15. Bapatla

The YSRCP has decided to field Nandigama Suresh, a prominent activist known for his work against the Amaravati project. He had protested against the TDP government’s move to displace many in the capital region.

16. Ongole

Magunta Srinivas Reddy, a senior politician who has been a member of the Congress and TDP and was an MLC till recently, will contest from YSRCP.

17. Nellore

Former TDP leader and ex-minister Adala Prabhakar Reddy, who quit the ruling party after being announced as an MLA candidate for Nellore rural from the YSRCP was given the YSRCP ticket.

18. Hindupur

The YSRCP is fielding Gorantla Madhav, a Circle Inspector who quit his job to join the party recently, following a public spat with TDP MP JC Diwakar Reddy.

19. Anantapur

The YSRCP has fielded Talari Rangaiah, a former District Rural Development Agency (DRDA) Project Director, who took voluntary retirement to join politics.

20. Kadapa

Jagan’s cousin Y S Avinash Reddy, who holds a Bachelors in Technology and an MBA from the University of Worcester in the UK, will be seeking renomination from Kadapa from the YSRCP.

21. Kurnool

Kotla will be going up against Dr Sanjeev Kumar from the YSRCP. He is a doctor by profession and is also the managing director of Kurnool-based Ayushman Hospitals.

22. Nandyal

P Brahmananda Reddy, a leading industrialist who joined the opposition party from the BJP recently, has been given the YSRCP ticket.

23. Rajampet

PV Midhun Reddy, the son of former minister P Ramachandra Reddy, who was elected from YSRCP as MP in 2014, is seeking re-election here.

24. Chittoor

The YSRCP has fielded party leader N Reddappa, an advocate.

25. Tirupati

The YSRCP is banking on local strongman Balli Durga Prasad, a four-time MLA from Gudur constituency in Nellore.

Related Stories

No stories found.
The News Minute