73.20% polling was registered during the Assembly Elections for the 119 constituencies that were held on December 7.

Live blog Telangana Assembly Election Results 2018 TRS set to sweep state
Telangana Elections 2018 Telangana 2018 Tuesday, December 11, 2018 - 07:29

India’s youngest state, Telangana, is all set to learn about who will form the next state government, days after voters in the state cast their vote on December 7. A little over 2.80 crore people were eligible to vote in the election. A total of 1,821 candidates are in the fray.

Ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) President and Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao is hoping to storm back into power for the second time in a row while the Congress-led People's Front, comprising Telugu Desam Party (TDP), Telangana Jana Samithi (TJS) and Communist Party of India (CPI), is determined to disappoint him and take the reins.

The BJP is also contesting the polls on its own. The Bahujan Left Front (BLF), led by the Communist Party of India-Marxist and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), is also contesting.

The Election Commission on Saturday announced that 73.20% polling was registered in the elections. The announcement came after the polling ended in all 119 constituencies.

This was the first Assembly elections in India's youngest state. The previous elections were held in united Andhra Pradesh in 2014 and Telangana had recorded a turnout of 68.9%. Counting of votes will be taken up on Tuesday.

Follow our Telangana special election page here

Note: If the live blog is not loading, please disable your adblocker.

Show us some love and support our journalism by becoming a TNM Member - Click here.