A single-phase polling will be held in 222 constituencies in the state, which has over 4.97 crore electorate.

Live blog Karnataka goes to the polls in 222 constituenciesImage: PTI
news Live Blog Saturday, May 12, 2018 - 07:54

Karnataka is all set to vote on Saturday for electing its 15th Legislative Assembly after a fortnight-long bitter campaign by the Congress, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S). Vote count will take place on May 15.

"Preparations have been made to conduct a free and fair polling in 222 of the 224 assembly constituencies across the state amid tight security," state Chief Electoral Officer Sanjiv Kumar told reporters in Bengaluru on Friday.

A single-phase polling will be held in 222 constituencies, including 36 reserved for the Scheduled Castes (SC) and 15 for the Scheduled Tribes (ST) and 26 in Bengaluru from 7:00 am to 6:00 pm.

The state has over 4.97 crore electorate, including 2.52 crore men and 2.45 crore women. New voters are 15,42,000 in the 18-19 age group.

Voting will be held at 58,008 polling stations in 30 districts across the state, with 600 of them marked as pink booths, manned by all-women personnel, and 28 ethnic booths.

Note: If the live blog is not loading, please disable your adblocker.



Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.