Live blog: Jayalalithaa takes oath as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu

Live blog: Jayalalithaa takes oath as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu
Live blog: Jayalalithaa takes oath as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu
Written by:

Sixty-eight-year-old J Jayalalithaa is all set to be sworn-in as the chief minister for the sixth time (a second consecutive term) of Tamil Nadu on Monday along with 28 other ministers at the Madras University Centenary Auditorium.

Among the dignitaries, Union Minister M Venkaiah Naidu will represent the centre at the swearing-in ceremony while the main opposition DMK  treasurer MK Stalin is also likely to be present. 

In the May 16 assembly polls, her party registered a major win bagging 134 seats, and it was the first time since 1984 that voters of Tamil Nadu preferred a party for a successive term.

Follow live updates of Jayalalithaa's swearing-in ceremony here! Our Editor Dhanya Rajendran is at the venue. 

The live blog is not active anymore.

12:30pm: TN CM Jayalalithaa leaves for the Secretariat, the ceremony wraps in less than 30 minutes.

12:27pm: Jayalalithaa greets Union minister Venkiah naidu

12:25pm: The Jaya cabinet:

O. Panneerselvam - Finance, Personnel and Administrative Reforms

Dindigul Srinivasan – Forest

Edappadi K. Palaniswami - Highways, Public works, and minor ports

Sellur K. Raju - Cooperation and labour

Thangamani - Electricity, prohibition and excise

D. Jayakumar – Fisheries

C.Ve. Shanmugam - Law, Courts and Prisons

K.P. Anbazhagan - Higher Education

.P. Velumani - Municipal Administration, Rural Development and Implementation of Special Programme

Dr. V. Saroja - Social Welfare, Nutritious Noon Meal Programme

K.C. Karuppannan – Environment

M.C. Sampath – Industries

R. Kamaraj - Food, Civil Supplies and HR&CE

O.S. Manian - Handlooms and Textiles

Udumalai Radhakrishnan - Housing and Urban Development

C. Vijayabhaskar - Health and Family Welfare

S.P. Shanmuganathan - Milk and Dairy Development

R. Duraikannu - Agriculture and Animal Husbandry

Kadambur Raju - Information and Publicity

R.B. Udayakumar – Revenue

K.T. Rajenthra Bhalaji - Rural Industries

K.C. Veeramani - Commercial Taxes

P. Benjamin - School Education, Sports and Youth Welfare

Vellamandi N. Natarajan – Tourism

S. Valarmathi - Backward classes and minority welfare

V.M. Rajalakshmi - Adi Dravidar and Tribal Welfare

Dr. M. Manikandan - Information and Technology

M.R. Vijayabhaskar - Transport

12:19pm: Jayalalithaa's cabinet has 13 new faces and includes 4 women including Jayalalithaa 

12:18pm: 14 more ministers takes oath together. Tamil Nadu has a 29 member cabinet including Jayalalithaa. 

12:14pm: 14 Ministers take oath, led by O Panneerselvam

12:11pm: Governor Rosaiah presents a flower bouquet to chief minister Jayalalithaa

12:09pm: Jayalalithaa takes the oath of secrecy, massive round of applause in the auditorium 

12:08pm: Jayalalithaa takes oath as the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu for the sixth time. Whistles, loud-cheers at the venue.

12:06pm: Jayalalithaa on stage

12:05pm: Jayalalithaa introduces her cabinet to governor

12:04pm: Governor Rosaiah arrives at the venur of the swearing-in ceremony 

12:02pm: Jayalalithaa's aide Sasikala seated in front row to view swearing-in ceremony

12 noon: Jayalalithaa is on-stage, being welcomed by bureaucrats and officers

11:58am: Jayalalithaa arrives at the auditorium, she is wearing a green saree.

11:57am: Several AIADMK cadres and members seated ahead of MK Stalin

11:56am: Jayalalithaa arrives at Anna University for the swearing-in ceremony 

11:54am: Prince of Arcot Nawab Mohammed Ali, actors Nasser, Vishal, Senthil attending swearing in ceremony

11:53am: MK Stalin seated far behind, not in the first 8-10 rows

11:50am: CPI's D Pandian also present at the ceremony

11:47am: Special Puja conducted at Chamundeshwari temple in Mysuru for Jayalalithaa 

11:45am: Several AIADMK members spotted, including Valarmathi and Gokul Indira who lost the elections 

11:42am: Jayalalithaa is trying to keep it clean this time

11:39am: Here are some images of the arrangements made and Jayalalithaa's loyalists

11:37am: Here is how the venue looks

11:35am: Dhanya reports that the hall is packed with invitees. The ground floors is reserved for VIPs, while journalists and other are sitting on the first floor of the auditorium. 

11:34am: PM Modi could not make it to the event, Minister Venkiah Naidu will be present, representing the centre. 

11:33am: Huge screens have been put up at MGR memorial for the ceremony

11:32am: DMK's MK Stalin arrives at the venue, this is the first time in decades the opposition leader is arriving at the swearing-in ceremony of the opponent. 

11:30am: Massive arrangement have been made for Jayalalithaa's swearing-in. Roads are lined up with supporter, especially women, all the way from her residence Poes Garden to the venue at Anna University.

(With Inputs from PTI)

Related Stories

No stories found.
The News Minute