TDP and YSR Congress to move a no-confidence motion over BJP’s “injustices” to Andhra.

Live Blog Andhra parties no confidence motion against the BJP in Parliament
news Politics Monday, March 19, 2018 - 10:55

Months of back and forth on the Andhra bifurcation issue will culminate on Monday, when both the ruling Telugu Desam Party and its rival the YSR Congress Party will move their no-confidence motions against the BJP in Parliament. Both parties are angry with the BJP for not fulfilling promises made at the time of bifurcation including granting special category status for Andhra.

To move a motion in the House, both parties require a minimum of 50 signatures each.  

The TDP’s no-confidence motion comes three days after the TDP officially exited the NDA on Friday. But despite its breakup with the TDP, the BJP is likely to comfortably pass this floor test, given its strength in the Lok Sabha.

When Prime Minister Narendra Modi took over in 2014, the BJP had won 282 seats in the Lok Sabha while the NDA coalition had 336 seats. While it enjoyed a comfortable majority, at present, the BJP only has 274 seats, which is just over the halfway mark of 270 in the 539-member House (minus the Speaker).

Clearly on the other side are TDP, with 16 seats, and YSRCP, which has 9 seats. The Congress, with its 48 MPs, has said that it will support any party including the TDP and the YSRCP if a no-confidence motion is moved on the floor of the House.

Read all the live updates on the no-confidence motion here:

Please disable your ad blocker to wait for the live updates to load

Topic tags,
Become a TNM Member for just Rs 999!
You can also support us with a one-time payment.